Home > English Ale, Mild Ale > Thoroughbred Gold

Thoroughbred Gold

Rating:2.9

Renamed Thoroughbred Gold in 2007 & originally called just Thoroughbred, this is a beer I know nothing about although it will be the second Thwaites beer I will have reviewed for this blog following on from the Lancaster Bomber I had earlier in the month. Again the only reason I picked this up was because it was relatively cheap (£1.19 for the bottle) in my local Home Bargains store so I thought I would give it a go seeing as I don’t usually drink many bitters. I’m not looking forward to this one too much considering the Lancaster Bomber’s earlier rating but this is a ‘mild bitter’ so hopefully it is more to my liking.

Appearance (3/5): Copper coloured with plenty of bubbles & a bubbly, pinky sized white head that lasts.
Aroma (6/10): Sweet smelling lemon & honey with some malts coming through.
Taste (5/10): Has a clean taste with hints of lemon & is sweet tasting although slightly watery. As expected it finishes with a mildly bitter taste that is quite nice.
Palate (3/5): Rather light bodied, the beer tingles the tongue although is slightly  more watery than you would like. The carbonation is good.

Overall (12/20): A fairly good beer that is not overly bitter & rather drinkable, I enjoyed this one more than I thought I would have & don’t have much bad to say about it other than it was slightly watery as I’ve already mentioned. Good none the less though.

Brewed In: Blackburn, England
Brewery: Daniel Thwaites Brewery PLC
Full Name: Thwaites Thoroughbred Gold
Type: English Pale Mild Ale
Abv: 3.7%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Home Bargains
Price: £1.19

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

