Home > English Ale, Pale Ale > Wychcraft

Wychcraft

Rating: 3.4

Again I wasn’t sure what to expect with this one although the word ‘blonde’ on the bottle did suggest it would be lighter & more to my liking. The reason I bought this was because the shop was doing an offer when you bought 4 bottles of beer & I needed a fourth to make up the numbers & opted for this one. Another reason was because it was from Wychwood brewery & I have tried a few beers from there already with Hobgoblin being the pick of the bunch. At the time of drinking I was also unsure as to what type of beer I was sampling as it wasn’t clearly marked on the bottle so drinking it was a pleasant surprise, here’s what I thought.

Appearance (3/5): A golden orange with a nice foamy, white head that fades to a thin lace after a minute or two. Leaves some lacing on the glass too.
Aroma (6/10): Smells of light malts with a faint lemon aroma & traces of grain.
Taste (7/10): The taste is a nice orange & lemon combination with some lemon too. Finishes with a light bitter flavour.
Palate (4/5): Light bodied & smooth with good carbonation. This one is crisp & refreshing.

Overall (14/20): Very pleasant & drinkable, this one could be a real session beer that you could enjoy. I like this one & it surprised me because I was expecting another run-of-the-mill English ale; this one was better than average although not outstanding.

Brewed In: Witney, England
Brewery: Wychwood Brewery
Full Name: Wychwood Wychcraft
Type: English Pale Ale
Abv: 4.5%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Morrisons
Price: £1.75

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

