Home > Pale Lager > Vedett Extra Blond

Vedett Extra Blond

August 19, 2011

Rating: 2.95

Not a lager that I had heard of before so it was a pleasant surprise to see something different on-tap when I was out recently, Vedett is a pilsener that is brewed by Brouwerij Duvel Moortgat who the brewery also responsible for one of my all-time favourite beers; Duvel. Originally brewed back in 1945, it was relaunched in 2003 as an upmarket, luxury beer aimed at younger drinkers in up-scale bars which would explain why I had never heard of it before. I’m not sure what I was expecting before drinking this although given the price (£4 a pint) I expected it to be something a little more special. To be honest with you it’s not a beer I will be likely to have again although it was a grade above many of the other mass-produced pale lagers you would usually find in any given pub, it was just too expensive for what it was. If it was cheaper & my options where limited then I would be inclined to give it another go but as it stands I’ll just stick to Duvel for the time being.

Appearance (3/5): A golden blond colour that is pretty clear & forms a tiny white, bubbly head that settles to a soapy lacing almost instantly.
Aroma (6/10): Overall this was a sweet smelling lager that had a lot of corn and bread on the nose. There is a faint background smell of barely that is coupled with a slight skunky aroma. A pretty average smell pint to be honest.
Taste (6/10): Very much like a standard pale lager although sweeter than usual & quite well balanced. There is a sweet syrupy & grassy hops taste that helps it go down well but it’s not that complex a lager and again only comes out as average again I’m afraid.
Palate (3/5): A smooth feeling lager that is on the light side of medium bodied with a very slightly warm feel to it.

Overall (11/20): As previously mentioned this is a very average beer that is overpriced at £4 a pint, not a patch on the flagship beer from the brewery Duvel. Quite sweet and very well balanced overall but without anything to make it stick out. Not one I would have again unless the price was considerably less.

Brewed In: Breendonk-Puurs, Belgium
Brewery: Brouwerij Duvel Moortgat
First Brewed: 1945
Type: Pale Lager
Abv: 5.2%
Serving: Draught (Pint)
Purchased: The Living Room, Glasgow, Scotland
Price: £4.00

