Hardcore IPA

Rating: 3.9

Another Brewdog beer here, and what will no doubt be the first of several over the next week or so as I will be heading to the Brewdog bar in Glasgow tomorrow evening to sample a few more beers. This one has been in my ‘cellar’ for a few months now & what better excuse to crack it open. I will note at this point that this is the 9.2% 2nd edition of the beer I am reviewing here, not the original 9% version to avoid confusion. Perhaps one day I’ll find out if their is actually a difference between the two versions. This is a beer that I have tried once under it’s alias of ‘ Tescos Finest American Double IPA’ and even though I had already had a few before trying this one it was still a beer that I enjoyed, although that may have been due to the several beers I had before this one rather than the taste itself but I guess the only way to find out is to give it a go.

Appearance (4/5): A nice reddish amber colour with a huge two fingers sized & slightly off-white head that is massive considering the beer is 9.2%. Retention is pretty good with it slowly reducing in size and the texture is a rather foamy one and I can see the odd bit of sediment in the glass.
Aroma (7/10): As expected from a double IPA there is a huge amount of hops in this one upfront, and they are mainly pine hops but I can also detect some citrus ones as well. There is a background alcohol note to this beer which I was hoping would be better hidden but it isn’t really off-putting. Overall the smell is a sweet and pleasant one and is quite strong; very much like a Punk IPA on steroids.
Taste (8/10): Very hoppy which matches what my nose was telling me, with a very pine like hop flavour hitting me straight away. The alcohol I mentioned in the nose is hidden a lot better here and the drink is better for that. There is a nice fruity spice flavour to the drink as well & overall I can’t really fault the taste.
Palate (4/5): Medium bodied and very smooth to drink with a pretty good balance & mild carbonation. The beer goes down easily with a pleasant bitter finish

Overall (16/20): A very nice that is very hopped up & really packs a punch. It is pretty well balanced in taste although I felt the alcohol notes were too noticeable in the smell. It goes down easily and is quite enjoyable, comparable to breweries Punk IPA only stronger in all areas. I think that because it is so similar to Punk this one probably won’t be a beer that I drink all that often but it still rates highly.

Brewed In: Fraserburgh, Scotland
Brewery: Brewdog
First Brewed: 2010 (Original version 2007)
Also Known As: Tesco Finest American Double IPA
Type: Imperial/Double IPA
Abv: 9.2%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Sainsbury’s
Price: £2.05

  1. No comments yet.
  1. November 14, 2011 at 16:00
  2. April 29, 2013 at 19:08
  3. August 9, 2016 at 11:25

Leave a Reply

