Home > Märzen/Oktoberfest > Hofbräu Oktoberfestbier

Hofbräu Oktoberfestbier

Rating: 3.45

Even though it is the beginning of December and I’m around two months late to the party it is now time for me to review my first ever Oktoberfest beer, although since I’ve only gotten into craft beer over the past year this has been my first opportunity. I managed to pick of the Hofbräu offering in a Glasgow Peckhams store a couple of weeks ago along with three other German Oktoberfest beers or Märzen’s as they are often known. This will be my fourth Hofbräu beer and earlier in the year I visited the Hofbräuhaus in Munich although the brewery isn’t one of my favourite German brewers if I’m honest, I felt there Original helles lager was well below average and their Hofbräu Dunkel offering was only a little better although I did enjoy Hofbräu Weisse when I tried it in Munich. Despite this I picked up this bottle as soon as I spotted it and have been looking forward to trying it since then, hopefully it can change my opinion of the brewery.

Appearance (4/5): This one looks a lot like a pale lager with a yellow straw colour but it is topped by a nice, bubbly white head about two fingers width tall. The head is reduced to about a pinky-width after a few sips and it remains at this level.
Aroma (7/10): Quite a strong lager malts type smell along with some bread and very faint honey notes. The is a background mild to light hops aroma as well as a nutty aroma and a general sweetness.
Taste (7/10):
The beer tastes like a beefed up lager, albeit a nice one. There is some sweet malts to kick things off with followed by a little grain, some grassy hops and a hint of  alcohol right at the very end. The finish is sticky and has a touch of bitterness.
Palate (3/5):
Crisp and light bodied with a touch of bitterness and alcohol at the end although it isn’t anything particularly special.

Overall (13/20): This one was a fairly enjoyable beer although it didn’t exactly blow me away. It struck me as being a lot like a strong lager but no in a bad way. I’m not sure if it was because this was my first Märzen or not but I enjoyed the simplicity of this one, it was a nice beer & a good introduction to the style.

Brewed In: Munich, Germany
Brewery:
Staatliches Hofbräuhaus München
Also Known As: Hofbräu München Festbier
Type: Märzen/Oktoberfest
Abv: 6.3%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Peckhams
Price: £2.99

  1. No comments yet.
  1. December 17, 2011 at 01:33
  2. July 28, 2014 at 09:53

Leave a Reply

