Home > Bitter > Santa’s Swallie

Santa’s Swallie

Rating: 2.9

Again it is time for another Christmas beer, it is December after all though I suppose so I may as well get them out of the way just no before winter is over. This is one that I picked up in Tesco the other day whilst stocking up on some other old favourites to drink over the Christmas period and decided to give this one a bash while I was at it. Had it not been a seasonal Christmas beer this isn’t one I’d normally have went for, stuck in amongst the various British beers Tesco has to offer and being full price whilst not coming from a brewery I recognised but I opted to give it a go none the less, I soon wished that I had not.

Appearance (4/5): A light orange copper coloured drink that has good clarity and is topped with a foamy white head that is about a pinky width tall and stays constant throughout.
Aroma (6/10): A fair bit of spice in this one, particularly cinnamon, there is some muted hops and dark malts. It was quite an unusual smell but not really a great one.
Taste (5/10): Pretty unusual but not it a good way, it was very spicy and there was tonnes of cinnamon but not a lot else. Not very complex and not one I enjoyed that much.
Palate (3/5): Light to medium bodied with a spicy but smooth feel to it and a crisp finish.

Overall (8/20): A poor effort, even for a novelty Christmas beer. There was far too much spice and not enough variation, I’d avoid this one if I was you.

Brewed In: Perth, Perth & Kinross, Scotland
Brewery: The Inveralmond Brewery Ltd.
First Brewed: circa. 2005
Type: Bitter
Abv: 4.3%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Tesco
Price: £1.99

  1. No comments yet.
  1. July 8, 2014 at 09:13
  2. June 8, 2015 at 11:00

Leave a Reply

