Home > Hefeweizen, Wheat Beer > Hitachino Nest Weizen

Hitachino Nest Weizen

Rating: 3.5

Yet another Hitachino Nest beer again, my fourth in less than a month and although I have enjoyed the beers I have tried from them even I think this is quite a lot for such a short period of time, I guess that’s what happens when you order your beer online and are looking to buy enough to fill a case. This was one of the Hitachino Nest beers that despite not being on the 1001 Beers lists was one of the first in my basket on the Brewdog website. Being as big a fan of hefeweizens as I am, I am looking forward to finding out what the Japanese take of a traditionally German beer would be. In my head I imagine a sort of Belgian influenced Witbier like Blue Moon or more subdued version of the German take on things but either way I am excited to find out. My only grievance going into this one was the fact it is only available in a 330ml bottle when I am used to a 500ml one for this style of beer, hopefully I don’t have much else to complain about after I try it.

Appearance (3/5): A very light coloured beer with a slightly cloudy, golden appearance and topped with a two millimetre tall, bubbly white head that manages to hold well.
Aroma (7/10): A spicy yeast and banana aroma to begin with along with some coriander and a lot of spice to it. There is a tiny amount of clove and a very fruity, citrus infused smelling beer.
Taste (7/10): A very spicy and banana tasting beer that has touches of clove, coriander and citrus throughout. I also detected some yeast and wheat as well as plenty more pepper and spice towards the end of the drink.
Palate (4/5): Light medium in body and with a lot of spice and good carbonation. There is a good refreshing taste to it and it goes down pretty well.

Overall (14/20): A very nice beer although probably not good enough to rank alongside the beer German hefeweizens, still a solid effort though with a good banana flavour that was pretty refreshing. My only slight annoyance with it was that it started to lose it’s bounce and get a little flat towards the very end. An enjoyable drink though, just not amazing when compared to others within the style.

Brewed In: Ibaraki, Japan
Brewery: Kiuchi Brewery
First Brewed: circa 2001
Type: German Hefeweizen
Abv: 5.5%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Brewdog.com
Price: £3.49

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

