Home > Hefeweizen, Wheat Beer > Maisel’s Weisse Original (108 of 1001)

Maisel’s Weisse Original (108 of 1001)

Rating: 3.95

Maisel’s Weisse is a beer I have an a couple of times now, having first tried it a few months ago in Beer Café through in Glasgow. It is a fairly nice hefeweizen without being outstanding but I still felt it deserved a decent review here so I picked a bottle up in Peckhams the other weekend. As I’ve said, it is a beer that I quite enjoy without rating it as one of my favourite and I have even had another few bottles between reviewing this and typing it up for this blog thanks to a return visit to Beer Café at the weekend. Quite a nice beer and worth it’s place of the 1001 Beers list for me, making it 108 from the book that I have reviewed now.

Appearance (5/5): Dark orange coloured here with cloudy look and a huge foamy white head with great retention as expected. Some carbonation evidence from bubbles too.
Aroma (7/10): All the regulars of a hefeweizen are here, including clove coriander and banana. It’s not as strong as I’d have liked but acceptable for the style with some fruity spice. There is also a little bubblegum aroma at the end too.
Taste (7/10): Again not as strong in flavour as I’d have liked. There is some banana, clove and pepper with touches of spice and coriander. I enjoyed it but much better hefeweizen out there within a similar price range.
Palate (4/5): Smooth with tonnes of carbonation and a sweet fruity tang with touches of spice. Medium body and well balanced if a little weak.

Overall (15/20): Average for a hefeweizen but it was nice and had good flavour. It could have been stronger in taste along with the smell and nothing really struck me for it as being overly exciting but it was a nice beer and one I would drink again.

Brewed In: Bayreuth, Germany
Brewery: Brauerei Gebrüder Maisel GmbH & Co.
First Brewed: 1955
Type: German Hefeweizen
Abv: 5.2%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Peckhams
Price: £2.79

  1. No comments yet.
  1. August 18, 2014 at 09:27
  2. October 9, 2015 at 08:27

Leave a Reply

