Home > Pale Lager, Pilsner, Premium Lager > Mikkeller The American Dream

Mikkeller The American Dream

Rating: 3.9

My second Mikkeller beer now and this one goes by one of two names, it is called ‘Danish Dream’ in some quarters although my bottled is labelled as ‘American Dream’ so that’s the name I’ll use when reviewing it here. This is another random bottle I picked up in Vino Wines though in Edinburgh after having a word with the shopkeeper this was the one I felt I’d enjoy most as it was described as being similar to Anchor Steam Beer so I though I’d give it a bash. From what I can find online this one looks to have been first brewed back in 2009 by a brewery that doesn’t really have a brewery in the traditional sense, more a home base at their ‘Mikkeller Bar’ in the Danish capital, Copenhagen. It is a brewery I have been aware of for some time, mainly due to their occasional collaborations with Brewdog and the fact their beers are usually available on-tap at most Brewdog bars at one time or another. Hopefully it’s a brewery those beer I’ll get to try a lot more of in the coming months.

Appearance (4/5): Pours a reddish to orange copper colour with a massive, foamy head that is very slightly off-white up close. The retention is good and is survives a good couple of minutes without reducing much at all and leaving some lacing on the glass too.
Aroma (8/10): Very fruity on the nose with a fair helping of hops to go with it, not at all what I was expecting from a beer labelled as a pilsener. I detected some mango and definitely some pine from the hops along with a touch of citrus and orange. There is a little grapefruit along with some grassy hops right at the end as well. One of the nicest smelling pilseners I have tried thus far.
Taste (7/10): Not quite as fruity as the smell but with a background pine and grapefruit taste that follows on from a more prominent grassy hop taste and some lager style malts. There is also more citrus and orange than the nose suggested but this works well with the grapefruit and pine hops.
Palate (4/5): Medium on body and with a lot of bitterness from the grapefruit and hops that I was not expecting from the style of beer. It is smooth and quite wet but certainly refreshing and it goes down very well indeed, I have little complaints about this one on the palate.

Overall (15/20): A very nice surprise from this one and it seems the guy in the shop knew his stuff, I thoroughly enjoyed this one and thought the fruity and pine like flavours worked great for the style. I thought it was quite an unusual tasting beer for a pilsener but one that I would definitely have again at some point in the future, it’s just a pity that Mikkeller beers are more widely distributed in the UK. Hopefully one day they will be though.

Brewed In: Copenhagen, Denmark
Brewery: Mikkeller
Also Known As: Mikkeller Danish Dream
First Brewed: 2009
Type: Czech Pilsener
Abv: 4.6%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Vino Wines
Price: £3.35

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

