Home > Dubbel/Abbey Dubbel > Lost & Found

Lost & Found

Rating: 4.4

This was a beer that I was in two minds about buying when I was placing an order on the BrewDog website a month or so ago, mainly because of the price (over £7 for the bottle) and the fact it didn’t feature in the 1001 Beers To Try Before You Die book, although I assumed it would have. The beers from the Lost Abbey brewer in California, which is one of the first American craft breweries I became aware of yet this will be the first of their beers I will have tried and now that I have a bottle is one that I am particularly looking forward to trying. It receives fairly high ratings online and to be honest a California craft beer that makes it across the water to the UK is usually a beer worth trying so I very much doubt that will change with this one. Now that I think about it, I’m not sure why I was so reluctant to buy this one.

Appearance (4/5): Pours a deep, reddish-brown colour with a large, off-white to light brown coloured head about two fingers tall and with good retention. The head eventually settles to quite a thick and creamy looking lacing with some left on the sides of the glass as well.
Aroma (8/10): Consisting mainly of rich malts and sweet, fruity aromas with some spice, banana and apples combined and backed up with a whiff of alcohol and light grains. There was also some darker fruits and a touch of raisin and bread which all seemed to be well-balanced and very pleasant on the nose.
Taste (9/10):  A very sweet beer with a good combination of apple, spice and some banana along with touches of bubblegum. There us a good earthy malt base and hints of raisin with a sugary sweet finish. It was fairly fruity in places with a nice alcohol kick and it is lighter than I had been expecting but it was a great tasting beer.
Palate (5/5): Medium bodied and with a nice amount of carbonation and a good creamy mouthfeel that is quite sweet and wet with a fruity, alcohol laced finish that goes down great.

Overall (18/20): An incredible beer and one that came right out of left field for me. I had been reading about how good this one was after buying it but even after that I was still surprised just how good it was. There was a perfect balance between flavours and great fruity notes along with a good but not overpowering. This is definitely a beer I will be trying to get hold of again and one you really have to try for yourself.

Brewed In: San Marcos, California, United States of America
Brewery: The Lost Abbey
First Brewed: 2006
Type: Abbey Dubbel
Abv: 8.0%
Serving: Bottle (750ml)
Purchased: Brewdog.com
Price: £7.49

  1. No comments yet.
  1. August 24, 2013 at 18:13

Leave a Reply

