Home > English Ale, Pale Ale > Victory Ale (113 of 1001)

Victory Ale (113 of 1001)

Rating: 3.7

I stopped off in Morrisons supermarket the other week with the sole purpose of buying any bottle of beer from England and I ended coming out with this one alone. It’s a beer from the Bateman’s brewery that also brewed the Christmas themed Rosey Nosey beer I reviewed here previously. I expect this one to be a bit better seeing as it is one of the breweries flagship beers and naturally because it features in the 1001 list. Surprisingly this will only be the eighteenth English beer from the list I will have reviewed and I’m running out of ones that are readily available in my area so it could be a drawn out effort to complete this list after all, still I can now score another one-off at least.

Appearance (4/5): An orange copper colour with a still body and a thin, bubbly head that is slightly off-white in colour and stays consistently for a good few minutes.
Aroma (6/10): Not as strong on the nose as I would have expected from a 6% abv. beer but I can detect some light malts and a very mild mix of fruit, possibly some orange along with a hint of caramel. There is some biscuit and a touch of spice towards the end of this one but like I say, the aroma was fairly weak on this one.
Taste (8/10): Kicks off with some good earthy malts and a blend of toffee, caramel and background fruity flavours along with a good, bitter base. There was some good spicy notes throughout along with a little bit of sweetness and some sugar from the fruits.
Palate (4/5): Medium to well carbonated with a medium body and a fair amount of spice to the beer. Quite a wet feel to the beer and as expected, plenty of bitterness as well.

Overall (14/20): Quite a nice pale ale and one that I enjoyed although had the aroma been a stronger one then I could have easily rated this one higher, it wasn’t a bad smell just a fairly weak one that was a struggle to detect. The alcohol content was pretty well hidden until the very end of the drink when it started to make itself known. A pretty nice beer and one that I would have again, although probably only if I found it on special.

Brewed In: Skegness, England
Brewery: Batemans Brewery
First Brewed: 1987
Type: English Pale Ale
Abv: 6.0%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Morrisons
Price: £1.59

Categories: English Ale, Pale Ale Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. December 16, 2012 at 17:09

Leave a Reply

