Home > American Pale Ale > Fuller’s Wild River

Fuller’s Wild River

Rating: 3.6

Another cask review from my recent London Trip, this one sampled in a Fuller’s pub in Soho on my first day there. The reason I opted for this new beer despite it only being launched earlier this year was because I don’t think I’ll get another opportunity and I can’t seeing it being a regular in many of the places I frequent. It is an American style pale ale coming in at 4.5% abv. and if I’m not mistaken will be the first of the six Fuller’s beers I have tried that has been on cask, better late than never I guess even though I usually prefer bottle conditioned beers.

Appearance (4/5): A dark red amber colour with a thin and foamy white head on top that stays consistent throughout.
Aroma (6/10): A milder smelling beer with some honey and vanilla along with a helping of sugar and some fruity, summer like aromas shinning through. I could detect some floral hops as well but these were quite subdued.
Taste (7/10): Again quite mild with the obvious honey coming through along with a blend of vanilla and butterscotch, neither of which were particularly strong but both were nice. There was a subtle alcohol kick right at the end which surprised me with a cask ale.
Palate (4/5): Smooth and creamy with light carbonation although this was slightly stronger than most casks meaning it didn’t seem flat. There was a nice alcohol touch and a semi-bitter finish too.

Overall (14/20): Very nice for a cask beer in my opinion although I’m not entirely sure it would work bottle conditioned too well. There was a nice honey and fruit taste to go with the general sweetness and overall the beer was pleasant and rather enjoyable.

Brewed In: London, England
Brewery: Fuller, Smith & Turner
First Brewed: 2012
Type: American Pale Ale
Abv: 4.5%
Serving: Cask (500ml)
Purchased: The Ship, Soho, London, England
Price: £3.50

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

