Home > English Ale, Pale Ale > Timothy Taylor’s Landlord (121 of 1001)

Timothy Taylor’s Landlord (121 of 1001)

Rating: 3.75

Another cask ale now, my first in some time and I can’t say I’ve really missed them all that much but on occasion they can make for a nice change up so here goes. I sampled this on in the Black Lion pub in the Westminister area of London on a recent trip, having it with my fry-up on a Saturday morning after spotting it and realising that it featured in the ‘1001 Beers To Try Before You Die’ book I’m working my way through. This one will mark the 121st from the book I have reviewed here and luckily this was one of the better cask ales I have tried seeing as I’m not a use fan of them. One thing I was surprised to learn about this beer is that the cask version is actually stronger than the bottle conditioned version, this one coming in at 4.3% abv. as opposed to the 4.1% bottled version. It is also four times Champion Beer of Britain at the ‘Great British Beer Festival’ and is also apparently Madonna’s favourite beer, I guess it’s a better choice than Budweiser anyway.

Appearance (4/5): An orange amber colour with a thick and bubbly white head that stays consistent for the duration of the beer.
Aroma (7/10): A strong, fruity aroma that is mainly orange and citrus notes along with some tarty aromas and a little bit of acidity. There is some grassy notes and a touch of biscuit mixed with the malts.
Taste(7/10): A good fruity flavour to begin along with some mild acidity and tart. The summer fruits flavours are quite nice and I can also detect a bit of caramel somewhere in the middle.
Palate (4/5): Smooth with a tiny bit of acidity and a medium to full and creamy body. Carbonation is low and there is some fruity tart at the end with a wet finish.

Overall (15/20): This one was a particularly nice cask beer and a great start to the morning seeing that is was very easy to drink and had a good , lingering fruity aftertaste along with a nice feel to it that was one of the more refreshing cask beers. I enjoyed this more than a lot of the other cask I have tried this year and it is certainly a beer that grows on you.

Brewed In: Keighley, England
Brewery: Timothy Taylor & Co.
Full Name: Timothy Taylor Landlord – Strong Pale Ale
First Brewed: 1953
Type: English Pale Ale
Abv: 4.3%
Serving: Cask (Pint)
Purchased: Black Lion, Westminister, London, England
Price: £3.49

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

