Home > American IPA, India Pale Ale > Teikoku IPA

Teikoku IPA

Rating: 3.65

Another IPA that I sampled on my last visit to Brewdog Glasgow a few weeks ago and it wasn’t an easy one to order. I knew I fancied an IPA but after asking the bar man it took four attempts to find one I’d yet to try, this being the result and coming in at a whopping £6.30 for the 360ml meaning it wasn’t exactly a cheap one. This one will be the second beer from Baird that I will have tried, following on from Suruga Bay Imperial IPA which was probably the first Japanese brewed IPA I tried and one that I rather enjoyed. Unfortunately this one was of a similar standard, and whilst still enjoyable it won’t be a beer I all that likely to pick up again in the future.

Appearance (5/5): Pours a murky orange/amber colour with a wavy, foamy head that is off-white in colour with tinges of brown in it.
Aroma (7/10): A fruity pine aroma that has a strong hop character and is laced with a solid helping of both spice and bitter notes and is somewhat sour right at the end.
Taste (7/10): A strong hop character to begin with along with mild pine notes and a nice, spicy flavour. There is some definite fruity flavours in the middle, mainly darker summer fruits and possibly berries along with a further helping of spice.
Palate (3/5): Medium with a smooth mouthfeel and plenty of spice throughout. There is some bitterness towards the end and the alcohol content doesn’t seem to be hidden well at all, this one seems a lot stronger than the 6% abv. suggests.

Overall (13/20): Not your typical IPA style beer here and not really one I would class as an America style IPA despite what various sites online say. It wasn’t a bad beer but I felt the alcohol content could have been better hidden and there wasn’t really enough to keep me interested or to justify the price, although I guess someone has to cover the cost of shipping it in from Japan. Not really one I could recommend or would have again although that being said, I don’t regret ordering it.

Brewed In: Numazu, Shizuoka, Japan
Brewery: Baird Brewing Company
First Brewed: Brewery since 2000
Type: American IPA
Abv: 6.0%
Serving: Bottle (360ml)
Purchased: Brewdog, Glasgow, Scotland
Price: £6.30

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

