Home > English Ale, Pale Ale > Belfast Ale

Belfast Ale

Rating: 3.55

Another Northern Irish beer I picked up over there for just over £2 in Tesco along with the other Whitewater Brewing beer that I reviewed here, Clotworthy Dobbin. I can see this one being quite similar in style to that one and whilst it was an enjoyable beer it wasn’t overly exciting so I hope I’m at least somewhat wrong in my assumptions here. I was hoping to pick up another couple Whitewater beers but I didn’t think I would have the time to finish them and wasn’t able to bring any back on the flight with me although I am quite looking forward to trying a bottle of their Belfast Lager on my next visit and possibly a bottle of their Mourne Oyster Stout if I can manage to find it anywhere.

Appearance (4/5): A clear, reddish-brown with a finger sized and slightly off-white head that settles to a thick lacing after approximately a minute.
Aroma (6/10): Light on the nose and not unlike the other of the breweries beer I tried on the same night, Clotworthy Dobbin. This one has some light bitter notes and an earthy malt base along with some caramel and nut. The finish is a slightly sweet, slightly bitter one.
Taste (7/10): A basic bitter taste with some mild spices and a touch of earthy hops and malts coming through. There isn’t a whole lot going on in this one but I can taste some very mild fruits and a touch of sweetness.
Palate (4/5): Light medium with a slightly watery feel in parts and about medium carbonation. There is some bitterness in the finish which is also a dry one.

Overall (13/20): An average drink and not one I’ll remember for all that long although it was pleasant and fairly easy to drink. Just your basic pale ale or bitter style beer that although solid is pretty unexciting. Not one to rush out and buy but possibly worth a try since it is one of the better Northern Irish beers out there, although choice is fairly limited.

Brewed In: Saintfield, County Down, Northern Ireland
Brewery: Whitewater Brewing Co.
First Brewed: Brewery since 1996
Type: English Pale Ale
Abv: 4.5%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Tesco (Northern Ireland)
Price: £2.09

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

