Home > Märzen/Oktoberfest > Brooklyn Oktoberfest

Brooklyn Oktoberfest

Rating: 4.15

I’m revisiting the märzen style of beer here, probably for the first time since about this time last year when I tried a few German Oktoberfest beers and none of them particularly excited me or left me wanting more. This is one I picked up in Glasgow a couple of weeks ago along with one from Augustiner and another Brooklyn beer, there Pumpkin Ale. The main reason I picked this one up is because I can’t really recall a bad beer from this brewery and it had been a year since my last märzen so I thought “Why Not?”. Apparently this one was introduced in 2000 and is brewed in the traditional German style. It has also managed to pick up a few awards along the way, including a gold medal at both the 2010 and the 2011 World Beer Championships so hopefully that means I’ll enjoy it more than the Oktoberfest beers I had last year.

Appearance (4/5): A light and clear looking, caramel brown to amber colour with a foamy, fingers width tall head that stays very well and looks quite still.
Aroma (8/10): Quite a nutty aroma with some good, earthy malts and a little bit of spice. There is some sweetness and a little bit of fruit in there too but the malts certainly dominate.
Taste (9/10): Much like the smell with the malts dominating again along with a little bit of fruity sweetness, a good amount of caramel and some brown sugar. It was rounded off with some raisin and a little bitterness.
Palate (4/5): For the most part smooth with only a slight amount of grain and spice. The body is medium and the flavours are well balanced with a nice, bitter end to round things off with.

Overall (17/20): An excellent beer and probably the best Märzen I have tried, although it isn’t my most frequently visited style. There was a great malt and caramel base with just the right amount of sweetness and bitterness at the end. A well balanced and very enjoyable beer that I look forward to trying again sometime soon.

Brewed In: Brooklyn, New York, United States of America
Brewery: Brooklyn Brewery
First Brewed: 2000
Type: Märzen/Oktoberfest
Abv: 5.5%
Serving: Bottle (355ml)
Purchased: Good Spirits Co.
Price: £2.40

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

