Home > English Ale, Pale Ale > Ambar Pale Ale 1900

Ambar Pale Ale 1900

Rating: 2.15

This one is a beer that I tried on a recent stopover in Madrid and it was both the only Spanish and the only new beer my hostel had to offer so it was the first one I tried. The rest being mainly Latin American beers I’d already tried or Becks. It was also an odd beer as the label made it clear it was a pale ale yet almost everything about the beer itself screamed cheap pale lager. Still it is another new beer and one that I’m unlikely to come across in the UK any time soon so I guess it was worth the effort despite the relatively poor taste. Not a winner though and one to avoid if there is nothing else new on offer.

Ambar 1900 Pale Ale

Appearance (2/5): A pale golden colour with tinges of yellow and a tiny patch of white for a head. The beer is quite clear and has a few bubbles rising to the surface too.
Aroma (5/10): Barely a thing in the way of smell from what I could detect. There was some corn and grassy aromas once you really made an effort to notice them. Some basic malts made a brief appearance as well and the beer had a ever so slightly skunky aroma to it towards the end.
Taste (4/10): Nothing offensive in the taste at least but still not that pleasant a drink in my opinion. Some cheap malts and a little bit of malts had me thinking this was more of a pale lager than a pilsener. It was poor and pretty bland overall.
Palate (2/5): Bland on the palate with a slightly skunky feel and some grain in there too. There was a slightly tang to the drink but nothing much if I’m honest.

Overall (9/20): A rather awful excuse for a beer in my book and I definitely need some clarification on what style of beer this one is meant to be. It tastes, looks and almost smells like a pilsener or pale lager but it claims to be a pale ale so I’m confused. Either way it wasn’t a good drink and is not one I would advise that you try any time soon.

Brewed In: Zaragoza, Spain
Brewery:  La Zaragozana
First Brewed: Brewery since 1900
Type: English Pale Ale
Abv: 4.8%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: The Way Hostel, Madrid, Spain
Price: €2.00 (approx. £1.64)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

