Home > English IPA, India Pale Ale > Williams Joker IPA

Williams Joker IPA

Rating: 4.2

Finally I’m getting round to giving this one from the Williams Brothers brewery a proper review after trying it a number of times both by the bottle and on tap on various nights out over the last year. I picked up this bottle in Sainsbury’s a fortnight ago when I realised it was on special and I’d never reviewed it here. It’s always I beer I have enjoyed when I have tried it and going in to this I would put it up there with the best the brewery produces so it’s surprising it’s taken me this long to pick a bottle up. This will also be the thirteenth beer from the brewery I will have reviewed here, second only to Brewdog beers for me.

Joker IPA

Appearance (5/5): A lively looking, bright amber colour with a large, two fingers tall head that is a foamy white and has excellent retention over the opening few minutes.
Aroma (8/10): Definitely quite hoppy to begin with but a subdued, unmistakably English IPA aroma that is fruity with some orange and citrus notes along with some pine and light grapefruit notes. A very nice smell that has some floral touches and an earthy hop aroma too without overpowering you with any one smell.
Taste (8/10): Again very hop filled with some pine and lighter grapefruit that mirrors the nose. There is some orange and sweet fruits in the mix along with a touch of earthy bitterness.
Palate (4/5): Pretty nice on the palate too, definitely bitter but not in the same league as the American style IPA’s I’m used to which is a good thing in this ones case. Well balanced with a nice, medium body and moderate carbonation along with a nice, crisp citrus finish that is slightly dry too.

Overall (16/20): I had been told this was an excellent beer and I may have even tried it a couple of times before on nights out, later in the evening but for the first time trying it properly I was blown away by just how good it turned out to be. Much like the Orkney IPA I had a couple of weeks ago this one really sets the bar for English style IPA’s and was very enjoyable. Definitely one to look out for and try if you get the chance.

Brewed In: Alloa, Clackmannanshire, Scotland
Brewery: Williams Brothers Brewing Company
First Brewed: 2006
Type: English India Pale Ale
Abv: 5.0%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Sainsbury’s
Price: £1.51

  1. No comments yet.
  1. February 27, 2013 at 16:30
  2. May 14, 2014 at 09:24
  3. October 6, 2014 at 11:03
  4. October 19, 2015 at 13:24

Leave a Reply

