Home > Imperial Pils, Pale Lager > Alhambra Reserva 1925 (165 of 1001)

Alhambra Reserva 1925 (165 of 1001)

Rating: 3.2

A random imperial pils purchase here, one that I grabbed alongside Asahi Black the other for the sole reason that you can just buy one beer at a time from a supermarket, it makes you look odd. This wasn’t a beer I was particularly excited about picking up but I did like the design of the bottle (other than the fact it was green) and the name vaguely rang a bell, oh and it’s a Spanish beer which I’ve not reviewed too many of on here as yet so thought one more would go some way to improving those statistics. From what I can tell this one has been brewed since 1925 and the brewery has incorporated that into the name for some reason. It may always have had this name but I doubt it somehow. This one will be the first imperial pils I’ve had in a while and although not one of my most frequently visited styles of beer it is one that I do enjoy sipping away at over the course of an hour or so; hopefully this one will be the same.

An update on this one is that well after drinking it I discovered that it featured in the 1001 beers book, I’ll now count it as the 165th from the book I have drank and I’m not sure how I missed it the first time round. Apparently this one was first brewed in 1998 to celebrate the founding of the brewery some seventy odd years previous in 1925.

Appearance (4/5): Definitely a lager but a darker kind of amber colour with a foamy, bone white head on top that is about a centimetre tall and stays for a good few minutes and several drinks of the beer.
Aroma (6/10): Fairly subdued with some definite alcohol and grain notes, there is some corn and lager hops and malts. I was surprised at how light on the nose the beer was for a fairly strong beer in the alcohol department. On the plus side I couldn’t detect anything in the way of a skunky aroma which was also surprising considering it came in a green bottle.
Taste (6/10): Subtle hops and some light lager malts along with a touch of grain and alcohol that gets stronger the longer you leave the beer. There is some corn and even some spice with the tiniest hint of some skunk right at the end.
Palate (3/5): Medium with what seems like strong carbonation initially but settles to about medium levels. There is a touch of bitterness and the finish is crisp yet slightly wet with touches of alcohol and minimal grain too.

Overall (12/20): Nothing to exciting or really worth noting about this strong pale lager, it started off quite nice but gradually faded to an average beer about half way down. It was drinkable but a little basic and unimaginative for my liking with nothing grabbing my attention other than perhaps the nice look of the beer. Not one I would really recommend trying although the bottle design was unusual and a nice change, it’s a pity it was also a green bottle.

Brewed In: Granada and Cordoba, Spain
Brewery:  Grupo Cervezas Alhambra
First Brewed: 1998
Type: Strong Pale Lager/Imperial Pils
Abv: 6.4%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Tesco
Price: £1.89

  1. No comments yet.
  1. March 21, 2013 at 19:46
  2. April 5, 2013 at 21:19

Leave a Reply

