Halcyon

Rating: 3.5

This is another Thornbridge beer I picked up recently, this time in Peckhams after a recommendation from the guy behind the till ever though I originally went in not intending to buy any beers. Thornbridge is a brewery I’ve had a lot of success with in the past, this one being my fifth beer of theirs and my second third in the last month, all of which were enjoyable although perhaps not all were beers I’d seek out again. Anyway this one is a double IPA and was introduced sometime around 2008 as far as I can tell, perhaps slightly earlier than that buy I’m not sure. I was sold on this one once I looked at the bottle and found out I’d be drinking a double IPA, a style I enjoy but don’t get to drink as much as I would like; I’m just hoping this one is as good as some of the other hoppy Thornbridge beers I have tried thus far.
Thornbridge Halcyon

Appearance (4/5): Pours a lighter than expected, clear golden colour with a good sized, foamy white head on top that had good retention and only shows a slight reduction in size initially.
Aroma (7/10): A medium strength, hop filled aroma with a lot of pine and some subdued tropical fruit notes coming through. The smell isn’t a weak one by any means but I was expecting stronger from a double IPA. There is some citrus notes shooting through and an earthy floral scent with a touch of sourness in the mix.
Taste (7/10):
A very bitter beer to begin with, there is a lot of pine hops and floral notes straight off the bat and this is coupled with a fruity bitterness, mainly grapefruit and a few tropical fruit flavours as well. There is some citrus and yet more bitterness right at the end.
Palate (3/5):
A chewy and pretty strong beer with light medium carbonation and a strong citrus and alcohol laced kick. The beer is quite dry at the finish and very bitter, even for a double IPA.

Overall (14/20): This one is a pretty average double IPA in my books, it looked the part although & smelt quite nice whilst being a little on the light side and the taste came out about the same albeit the bitterness levels were what let it down, I felt it was a little to strong on the front. Still, not a bad effort from Thronbridge but I’ll stick to their Jaipur offering in future.

Brewed In: Bakewell, England
Brewery:
 Thornbridge Brewery
First Brewed: circa. 2008
Type: Imperial/Double IPA
Abv: 7.4%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Peckhams (Glasgow)
Price: £3.75

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

