Home > Pale Lager, Pilsner > Vagabond Pilsner

Vagabond Pilsner

Rating: 3.8

Another new beer from Brewdog for me now, this one being my 38th from the brewery making it by far the one I try the most beers from. This is another one I managed to try on-tap at their Glasgow bar and I’m not sure if this one will ever be available in bottled format or not although it definitely isn’t yet. The beer is a pilsener style lager that was launched earlier this year and although not one I was rushing to try it did appeal to me so I’m glad I finally got round to giving it a go. Here’s how I rated it when I tried it last week.
Vagabond Pilsener

Appearance (4/5): A clear looking, mild amber colour with a thin, bubbly looking, white head on top that stays consistent as I worked my way down the pint.
Aroma (7/10): Seems like quite a fruity with an almost pale ale like aroma coming through. The beer is a sweet one with some caramel malts following this as well as some grassy hops but they main aroma seems to be a sweet honey one that lingers throughout and is really quite nice.
Taste (7/10): Sweet with plenty of honey from the aroma as well as some lighter hops and a nice caramel taste with some background fruits and a nice, light citrus flavours.
Palate (4/5): Medium bodied with a creamy feel and a smooth body that has a nice balance to it and goes down pretty well.

Overall (16/20): Very nice overall and another good beer from Brewdog which initially seemed more pale ale than pilsener, particularly considering the fruity flavours and honey throughout. There was a good balance and nice similarities between the smell and the taste, with the bitter taste at the end rounding things off nicely.

Brewed In: Ellon, Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Brewery: Brewdog
First Brewed: 2013
Type: Pilsner
Abv: 4.2%
Serving: Draught (Pint)
Purchased: Brewdog, Glasgow, Scotland
Price: £3.95

  1. No comments yet.
  1. October 27, 2014 at 10:18
  2. February 24, 2015 at 13:20
  3. August 23, 2016 at 08:32

Leave a Reply

