Home > Dry Stout, Stout > Dungarvan Black Rock Irish Stout

Dungarvan Black Rock Irish Stout

Rating: 3.05

Finally, over a month later I have gotten around to uploading the final review of the beers I drank over Christmas and New Year; I’ve no idea why it has taken so long mind you. This was a bottle I had in January whilst over in Ireland for New Year, and one I picked up in a local off-license after a recommendation from the guy behind the counter. Brewed by the Dungarvan brewing Company in Muster, in the south, this one is a dry Irish stout that was first brewed back in 2010 when the brewery first opened. I’ve not had much luck with the beers I’ve picked up on my annual trips to Ireland with more than a few not rating very highly at all. Going in I was hoping this one would prove to be at least a slight improvement on some of the islands previous offerings but I’m afraid it wasn’t to be. It was certainly drinkable but I found it a little too bitter and earthy for my liking; here’s what I thought of it.

Dungarvan Black Rock

Appearance (4/5): Opaque black with the odd red tinge and a giant, dome-shaped head that is about two inches tall and foamy. Retention is very good and the head seems to hold for several minutes but there is a lot of sediment in the beer, even after a gentle pour; good lacing on the glass redeems things a little though.
Aroma (7/10): Strong and dark malts with a lot of chocolate and some spice that includes some aniseed-like flavours. There is some light coffee on the nose along with plenty of earthy tones.
Taste (6/10): Rich and full of chocolate with some strong, earthly malts and further cocoa. I got some hints of sweetness and a coffee flavour that comes through strong around the middle then slowly fades towards the end.
Palate (2/5): Slightly rough on the palate with a hard bitterness from the coffee coming through along with an abundance of spice and a lingering aftertaste that is also quite bitter. The beer had a medium body and carbonation was soft, although the balance was quite poor with this one.

Overall (11/20): This one wasn’t a beer that I enjoyed all that much sadly and one again another beer will go down as a poor Irish offering in my book, I don’t seem to have much luck picking new beers when I’m in the country. The beer seemed to have huge bits of sediment in the glass despite my care when pouring and these seemed a lot bigger than usual, although thankfully this put me off. It was more the strong bitter flavours and bit, earthy malts that I didn’t enjoy about this one, that coupled with the poor mouthfeel means this isn’t a beer I’m likely to try again.

Brewed In: Waterford, Munster, Ireland
Brewery: Dungarvan Brewing Company
First Brewed: 2010
Type: Irish Dry Stout
Abv: 4.3%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Reilly’s (Lisnaskea)
Price: £2.99

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

