Home > Imperial/Double IPA, India Pale Ale > The Kernel India Pale Ale Double 4C

The Kernel India Pale Ale Double 4C

Rating: 4.1

The second of the two Kernel beers I picked up from Good Spirits Co. in Glasgow recently, this one a double IPA coming in 9.6%. The beer takes the 4C part of the name from the four varieties of hops used in the brewing process (Citra. Chinook, Cascade, Columbus) to make it one of the few beers from The Kernel that doesn’t list the hops in the title, although I guess it kind of does here. This is a beer I have been looking forward to trying although the freshness date wasn’t too far away either so I thought it better to drink it now before it started to fade in the bottle. It’s also one I am hoping comes out better than the last beer from the brewery I tried, their Pale Ale Cascade Pacifica Simcoe which was a bit of a disappointment to be honest.
The Kernel India Pale Ale Double 4C

Appearance (4/5): Almost murky orange to amber with a slightly hazy body and a head that consists of little more than a patchy lacing across the top. It started a little taller and bubbly but faded almost instantly.
Aroma (9/10): Tonnes of tropical fruits with pineapple coming through strongest, although grapefruit, mango and apricot also feature among others. There is a lot of sweetness with a strong hop presence and some solid, background malts laced with caramel. An excellent smelling beer and one I can’t wait to try.
Taste (8/10): Sweet tasting with a huge amount of tropical fruits coming through along with the mango, apricot and grapefruit from the nose, pineapple also features but to a lesser extent here. There is a strong pine hop taste to this one but this is also lighter than I had been expecting, particularly given the aroma of the beer. Sweet malts and a hoppy bitterness round things off nicely but it is a beer that was starting to fade ever so slightly as I worked my way down it.
Palate (4/5): Smooth and very easy to drink considering the strength of the beer, the alcohol content is very well hidden here with only a faint warming mouthfeel in places. The body is medium here with light carbonation and touches of spice. The balance was fairly good too and the beer started very refreshing and juicy, although this did lessen as I worked my way down the glass.

Overall (16/20): This is another beer from The Kernel that started excellently with the smell coming through wonderfully and the alcohol content hidden almost completely throughout. The beer was very refreshing and easy to drink, particularly at the start and is one I worked my way down faster than I probably should have. Another solid beer from the London brewery, although if I’m honest I’m not entirely sure how likely I would be to pick the beer up again given the chance.

Brewed In: London, England
Brewery: The Kernel
First Brewed: 2013
Type: Imperial/Double IPA
Abv: 9.6%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: The Good Spirits Co. (Glasgow)
Price: £4.20

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

