Home > Dry Stout, Stout > Brooklyn Dry Irish Stout

Brooklyn Dry Irish Stout

Rating: 3.2

I may be a week late with this one but I don’t care, even if I am drinking on a Monday night for once. This one is a January to March seasonal from the Brooklyn Brewery that I’ve spotted in quite a few Glasgow bottle shops for the first time this year. Released annually to coincide with St. Patrick’s day, the beer will be my eighth Brooklyn offering and my first since reviewing their Brown Ale last May. I particularly like the bottle and label design on this one and opted to big a bottle up at the start of the month with a view of trying in on March 17th but sadly I missed the opportunity and made up for it exactly a week later. I was unsure of how this one would hold up to close examination going in and sadly it proved to be one of the lesser Brooklyn offerings I have reviewed here, hopefully the next I try will be a marked improvement but we shall just have to wait and see I guess.
Brooklyn Dry Irish Stout

Appearance (4/5): A very dark ruby to black colour, opaque and topped with a finger-sized, foamy head that is a medium brown colour and reduces in size to sit as a quarter centimetre tall lacing.
Aroma (7/10): Lots of roasted malts and barely, very strong upfront with a lot of earthy notes and some chocolate too. There is some grain and mocha with a tiny amount of hops, although I struggled to detect this initially and it was only after the beer opened up a little that they became noticeable.
Taste (5/10): Much like the smell with a lot of roasted malts and some grain making an appearance along with some touches of spice and a little chocolate. Sadly the beer had some bland spots around the middle and seemed overly watery with not much in the way of depth to the beer; this one was a bit of a disappointment if I’m honest.
Palate (3/5): Light bodied and as I’ve mentioned it was a little bland and watery in areas, particularly for a stout. Carbonation was about medium and as the label implied, the beer is dry making it a little harder to swallow than I would have liked.

Overall (12/20): This one was fairly disappointing and definitely the worst Brooklyn Brewery offering that I’ve tried to date. Despite starting okay with a good appearance and smell, the beer quickly went downhill from their with the taste in particular failing to impress. I felt this one was more of a gimmick from the brewery and not really up to the standard of the previous beers I have tried from them.

Brewed In: Brooklyn, New York, United States of America
Brewery: Brooklyn Brewery
First Brewed: Brewery since 1987
Also Known As: Brooklyn Dry Stout
Type: Irish Dry Stout
Abv: 4.7%
Serving: Bottle (355ml)
Purchased: Good Spirits Co. (Glasgow)
Price: £2.20

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

