Home > American Pale Ale > Fitzbräu 1 Hop

Fitzbräu 1 Hop

Rating: 3.55

A fairly unique review here and that will probably be bias in its very nature, a few of my latest attempt at homebrewing. This one is my third such brew, although the previous two were brewed straight from a kit and as such I didn’t feel the need to assess them here. This one was brewed and bottled in October last year and is getting towards the end of its shelf life, as such I should probably have reviewed it sooner but I was too busy drinking it then. The beer is an American IPA that was brewed using only Centinnial hops (hence the name), dried amber malt extract and light malt extract in liquid form before being pitched with West Coast style ale yeast and left to ferment for the two weeks. The beer started with an original gravity of 1.050 before falling to 1.012, giving the beer an abv. of roughly 4.99% (or so the handy online calculator tells me). Whilst not outstanding, the beer was a fairly good first effort in my opinion and I’m hoping to get a few more under my belt this year, although I’ve been quite slow of the mark. Anyway, here is my sure to be bias opinion on my own beer.

Fitzbräu 1 Hop

Appearance (4/5): A bright reddish amber colour with an absolutely huge head that is far too big even with a very gentle pour. The beer ends up overflowing if extra care isn’t taken & it seems to increase in size over the opening couple of minutes. There is a lot of visible carbonation in the body as well with plenty of tiny bubbles buzzing around and it’s quite clear with little to no sediment. The head is a solid, very foamy looking one that manages to hold very well with some nice lacing on the sides, it’s just a shame it is so oversized.
Aroma (6/10): A light malt base with some caramel and moderate strength hops on top of that. There is a slightly  astringent aroma with sharp citrus notes and some bitterness. It is lighter and more one-dimensional on the nose that I would have liked although the smell is definitely not a bad one, it just could have used more variety to it.
Taste (7/10): Pine and centinnial hops with nice bitter flavours and some light citrus coming through along with a slightly floral taste. There was some light malts in the background along with some fruity flavours and an almost herbal taste that was quite enjoyable.
Palate (4/5):
Smooth with a medium body, plenty of bitterness and quite a sharp, dry feel to the beer. There was a lot of carbonation in the body, more that I would have liked but it thankfully feel short of being gassy or too lively.

Overall (13/20): Not a bad first effort at extract brewing, even if I do say so myself. The beer had a nice flavour to it without really having anything to set it apart from other American pale ales. The fact I only used one hop strain made it a little basic and one-dimensional though and there wasn’t enough in the aroma to give it the strength I was looking for but despite these faults I am quite proud of this effort and I can’t wait to try making another batch sometime soon.

Brewed In: Wishaw, Lanarkshire Scotland
Brewery: Fitzbräu
First Brewed: 2013
Type: American Pale Ale
Abv: 5.0% approx.
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Homebrew
Price: N/A

  1. No comments yet.
  1. March 17, 2017 at 10:24

Leave a Reply

