Home > Imperial/Double IPA, India Pale Ale > Hello, My Name Is Vladimir

Hello, My Name Is Vladimir

Rating: 4.1

Another limited release from Brewdog now, this time the newest addition of the ‘Hello, My Name Is…; line from the brewery, the extremely limited-edition and hard to come by Hello, My Name Is Vladimir. This one was released in February this year as a mini-protest against some of Russia’s latest and much-publicised policy changes in the run up to the Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics; the label even goes as far as to say “Not for Gays” and mentions that 50% of the profits from the beer will go to LGBT charities. The beer was one I was looking out for and managed to snag a couple bottles of when it appeared in my local bottle shop, before very quickly selling out. It is brewed with limonnik berries native to China and far eastern Russia. Surprisingly, even to myself, is the fact that this will be only my second beer from the ‘Hello, My Name Is’ series and follows on from Hello, My Name Is Beastie which was I believe only the second beer in the series; the first being ‘Hello, My Name Is Ingrid’ which I have yet to but hope to try. I am hoping this beer will prove to be at least a slight improvement on the last in the series that I tried, although that one was still a nice beer and it should be mentioned that I have another two or three, possibly more, from the series in my cellar awaiting me getting around to drinking them. Hopefully this one will be a good beer and inspire me to get round to them a little quicker than I otherwise might do.
Hello, My Name Is Vladimir

Appearance (4/5): Bright and clear orange amber with a finger-sized, foamy white head that holds well considering the strength of the beer.
Aroma (9/10): Strong tropical fruit notes right off the bat with a lot of sweetness and some pine hops as well. There is some caramel on top of the citrus, mango and apricot notes that make up the majority of the nose. Things are rounded with a nice grapefruit aroma and some light bitterness.
Taste (8/10): A mixture of caramel and tropical flavours initially, with some sweetness and slightly more hops than the nose indicated. There is some citrus flavours coming through alongside some berries and various other fruits. Some floral and herbals flavours round things off towards the end.
Palate (4/5): Smooth and hoppy with the alcohol content well hidden and quite a refreshing taste to the beer. There is some light herbal spice and a pleasant tang on the tongue with moderate carbonation helping the beer go down well.

Overall (16/20): Not a bad effort from Brewdog and one that wasn’t just a gimmick or clever marketing ploy for once since so many of their beers have been a real disappointment of late. This one was a good,berry infused double IPA with nice sweet and tropical fruit flavours coming through. The beer wasn’t quite as hoppy as I would have liked but it was fairly enjoyable and I might have been tempted to pick it up again in the future if it wasn’t a special, limited edition brew.

Brewed In: Fraserburgh, Scotland
Brewery: Brewdog
First Brewed: 2014
Type: Imperial/Double IPA
Abv: 8.2%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Good Spirits Co. (Glasgow)
Price: £3.80

  1. No comments yet.
  1. April 15, 2014 at 13:58
  2. October 27, 2015 at 08:39

Leave a Reply

