Home > Imperial/Double IPA, India Pale Ale > Hello, My Name Is Mette Marit

Hello, My Name Is Mette Marit

Rating: 3.25

Following on from Hello, My Name is Vladimir, this will be my second Brewdog beer from their Hello, My Name Is… series in as many weeks. This one is the Norweigan influenced Metter-Marit, the name of which was censored on the bottles sent to Norway. It will be my third in the series, the other being Hello, My Name Is Beastie which was the Scottish offering for the series and one I tried in January last year. I picked this one up before Christmas alongside another in the series with the name Sonja, a collaboration with the Evil Twin brewery that I will probably review here in the near future. The twist in the version of the double IPA is that it is brewed using Norwegian Lingonberries, not that I’m familiar with them or anything but I’m looking forward to trying this one.
Hello, My Name Is Mette Marit

Appearance (3/5): Orange amber in colour with a thumb-sized, bubbly head that is very slightly off-white and slowly reduces in size to sit about half its original size after about thirty seconds before finally settling as a thin lacing on top. The beer is quite clean and looks relatively still as well.
Aroma (6/10): Sweet with some tropical notes but it is the floral and herbal ones that start to take over after the initial burst of fruit. There is some berries, lingonberries I presume although I’m lost as to what they are exactly other than that they are Norwegian according to the label on the bottle. The sweetness gets a little stronger as the beer goes one and there is some pine hops as well; not as many as I would have expected or liked but the aroma isn’t a bad one.
Taste (6/10): Sweet floral notes, some herbal ones too and a lot of berries (again, lingonberries I imagine) although with a few other sweet fruits and faint hops which I wasn’t expecting consider the beer is a double IPA. A few sweet malts make an appearance too but it’s the berries and floral flavours that dominate here.
Palate (4/5): Smooth with a medium body and some sweetness throughout. There is a slight citrus tang and hints of spice with a little alcohol as well but not a lot. It was pretty easy drinking with a warming, boozy feel towards the end.

Overall (13/20): This one was a fairly disappointing Brewdog beer and definitely not up to the standard of the previous two in this series that I’ve tried from the brewery. The beer was still drinkable and had a nice feel to it but the taste wasn’t much like a double IPA and wasn’t all that exciting or bitter either.

Brewed In: Fraserburgh, Scotland
Brewery: Brewdog
First Brewed: 2013
Type: Imperial/Double IPA
Abv: 8.2%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Brewdog.com
Price: £3.00 (approx.)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

