Home > Imperial/Double IPA, India Pale Ale > Hello, My Name Is Sonja

Hello, My Name Is Sonja

Rating: 3.9

Now for my fourth beer in Brewdog’s Hello, My Name Is… series, my third of which I’ve tried in April after having a few bottles lying around since before Christmas, of which this was one. This one is Brewdog’s first in the series that was brewed in collaboration with another brewery and here they teamed up with Danish brewery Evil Twin to make this double IPA that loaded with of 100kg of blueberries. The beer takes its name from the mother of Jeppe, one of the brewers at Evil Twin who worked on this beer alongside Brewdog and uses the same malt base as the others in the series. This bottle was the last in the series I have been able to get my hands on and the next in the series will be the Brazilian inspired Hello, My Name Is Zé that is being brewed to coincide with the opening of a Brewdog bar in Sau Paulo. Sadly I doubt that Zé is a bottle that I’ll be able to try because from what I have heard, that particular offering will only be available to Brewdog shareholders or in Brazil.
Hello, My Name Is Sonja

Appearance (4/5): Pours a deep amber colour with a thumb-sized, foamy white head that loses a little of its initial height over the opening minute or so but after that it holds pretty well.
Aroma (8/10): Sweet and tropical fruit smells with quite a lot of hops and plenty of pine notes as well, there is some citrus as well and to a lesser extent some grapefruit as well. I could detect some berries coming through as well but its the tropical fruit notes that come through strongest.
Taste (7/10): Very sweet with a lot of bitterness and some citrus plus a plenty of hops as well. Definitely sweeter than the nose suggested with the blueberries making themselves more known too. Plenty of tropical fruits with pineapple, some apricot and mango all feature, among others and it’s rounded of with a faint touch of caramel.
Palate (4/5): Smooth, sweet and very bitter with a medium body and light medium carbonation. The beers alcohol content is well hidden although a few hints come through but this doesn’t take away from how easy it is to drink.

Overall (16/20): This beer was a definite improvement from the last in the series I tried from Brewdog, Hello My Name Is Mette Marit although this one wasn’t exactly setting the brewing world alight either. The Sonja edition of the beer was undoubtedly a very sweet one with plenty of tropical notes and some blueberries as well but it seemed to be missing that something special and wasn’t up there with the top double IPA’s that I’ve tried. I enjoyed this Brewdog and Evil Twin offering but it’s not one I’d look  out for again even if it wasn’t a limited release.

Brewed In: Fraserburgh, Scotland
Brewery: Brewdog / Evil Twin (collaboration)
First Brewed: 2013
Type: Imperial/Double IPA
Abv: 8.2%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Good Spirits Co. (Glasg0w)
Price: £3.60

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

