Home > Dark Lager, Dunkel > Efes Dark

Efes Dark

Rating: 3.35

Another beer from Efes brewery based in Istanbul, this one counting as my ninth Turkish beer and my sixth from Efes, a brewery that dominates the country’s beer scene. This is a beer that I have tried once in the past, I had it last year whilst in Istanbul but it was while I was out at dinner and I never had the chance to properly review it, that’s why I asked my sister to pick me up a bottle when she was in the country recently. From what I can remember Efes Dark was a fairly okay beer and one that went down easily enough although I can’t remember too much more about it so it obviously wasn’t a classic. The beer seems to attract some rather poor online reviews so maybe I missed something the first time I tried it but it will be nice to give it another go since it’s not a beer that one can readily pick up in the UK.

Efes Dark

Appearance (4/5): Clear, caramel brown with a centimetre tall, bubbly head that is light brown in colour and settles as a patchy lacing with the majority sitting around the circumference and the middle looking pretty bare but holds well after that.
Aroma (7/10): Quite a lot of malts and roasted notes on the nose initially, there is some faint hops and a little grain backed up with some caramel as well. I could detect some sugar as well and some toffee makes an appearance too with some very faint fruits rounding things off.
Taste (6/10): Roasted malts and a slight bit of sweetness make up most of the taste with this one, some caramel and toffee from the nose featuring as well. A little bit of spice comes through around the middle with hints of treacle as well.
Palate (3/5): Quite a smooth beer and definitely inoffensive with some bland patches but overall the beer seems a little thin. There is some bitterness and touches of sweetness throughout as well. It’s an easy enough beer to drink and carbonation is about light medium in my opinion.

Overall (13/20): Not a bad Turkish offering, to be honest this is about as good as I’ve tried from the country with only Tuborg Gold scoring higher, and only just. The beer was definitely drinkable and easy going although it seemed a little bland and thin in places but altogether not a bad offering from Efes. I can imagine this is one that I’ll probably have again at some point when I’m back in Turkey but other than that I doubt it’s one I get a hold of otherwise.

Brewed In: Istanbul, Turkey
Brewery: Anadolu Efes
Type: Dunkel
Abv: 5.5%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Marmaris, Turkey
Price: Gift

  1. No comments yet.
  1. June 17, 2014 at 10:20

Leave a Reply

