Home > Bitter, Extra Special Bitter > Merlin’s Ale

Merlin’s Ale

Rating: 3.15

Another beer from Biggar based Broughton Ales, my first from them in a while and one that I was initially worried that I had already tried before. When I looked at this bottle and went to put it in the fridge I it was quite similar to the same breweries Scottish Oatmeal Stout although as it turned out it was my mind playing tricks on me and I hadn’t actually tried this one before. Taking it’s name from the legendary wizard whose burial site is said to lie near the brewery, this one is yet another English style bitter that I picked up in my local Aldi supermarket the other week and I’m doing a good job of getting my Scottish beer count up with all these offerings, I’m just hoping this one proves to be an improvement on some of the previous ones I’ve already tried but we shall soon see.
Merlin's Ale

Appearance (4/5): Settles as a clear and medium amber colour with a foamy white head on top that stops just short of turning to a patchy lacing on the surface.
Aroma (6/10): More hoppy that I had been expecting initially, there is some earthy notes and a few grassy ones coming through alongside a touch of sweetness and freshly cut grass as well. I could detect biscuit malts and some floral notes with some light grain as well. The beer isn’t the strongest on the nose but it has quite a nice balance and is easy on the nose.
Taste (6/10): Biscuit malts and some faint sweetness, there is a slight tang initially and I could nice floral taste that is backed up by some caramel and a bitter aftertaste that went down well. There wasn’t a whole lot else going on really other than some earthy hops but the taste was much like the aroma, pleasant but nothing special.
Palate (3/5): Light-medium bodied and quite smooth, although there was the odd touch of grain in there. It is a dry beer with moderate carbonation and fair balance as well although the mouthfeel seemed the weak link in this beer, only just though.

Overall (11/20): This one started not too badly at all with a nice hoppy taste and some bitterness coming through but to be honest it was a fairly standard beer and wasn’t too exciting either sadly. It’s drinkable but not great, nor is it one I’ll pick up again I’m afraid.

Brewed In: Biggar, Scotland
Brewery: Broughton Ales Ltd.
First Brewed: Brewery since 1980
Type: Extra Special / Strong Bitter (ESB)
Abv: 4.2%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Aldi
Price: £1.59

  1. No comments yet.
  1. September 12, 2017 at 23:00

Leave a Reply

