Home > Imperial/Double IPA, India Pale Ale > The Almighty Mofo

The Almighty Mofo

Rating: 4.05

My first beer from the Livingston based Alechemy Brewery now, a poor showing from me considering how close the brewery is to my home and the fact that I used to pass Livingston every day going to work. I’ve seen a number of their beers for sale of late but for one reason or another this one will be the first that I will have tried and it should be a good one to start off with, a double IPA that was first introduced late last year. I managed to find this one in the bottle shop next to my work a couple of months ago and held it back as I knew it would keep better than some others I grabbed around the same time but again the World Cup persuaded me to give this one a go sooner rather than later. It was definitely one I was looking forward to going in and I’m pleased to report that it didn’t disappoint in the slightest, here’s what I though of it.
The Almighty Mofo

Appearance (4/5): Pours a relatively clear looking, slightly caramel tinged amber colour that is topped with a thin, bubbly white head that fades to a very patchy lacing across the surface, although in truth most of the surface ends up uncovered after about forty-five seconds.
Aroma (8/10): Tropical fruits and some caramel notes initially, there is some sweetness and a few hops that add to the bitterness. There is some resinous pine and I could detect some citrus too, this one is quite an enjoyable smelling beer with some sweet malts and hints of grapefruit too.
Taste (8/10): Lots of bitterness initially, more so than the nose hinted at with plenty of grapefruit and pine flavours coming off the hops. There is some sweetness and a good helping of caramel malts follows this but the hops and bitterness are what dominate in the opening seconds. Citrus and orange like flavours start to come through shortly after and some biscuit malts make an appearance too but there isn’t much in the way of the tropical fruits that were hinted at by the nose, some appear but there are quite faint.
Palate (4/5): Medium bodied and very bitter as you’d expect from a double IPA, although there was some sweetness throughout. The alcohol content was well hidden and I liked the balance of this one which helped the make the drink an easy on to sip away at. Carbonation was moderate to fine and there was a pleasantly bitter after taste to close things with.

Overall (17/20): This one was a pretty good first beer from Alechemy for me, quite a bitter one with good sweetness throughout and very much a drinkable double IPA that wasn’t overly heavy on the alcohol content which I’m finding increasingly rare these days. The beer also manages to strike a good balance and the sweetness backing up the resinous pine and bitter hops is a welcome addition; I could see me going back to this one again in future.

Brewed In: Livingston, Scotland
Brewery: Alechemy Brewing
First Brewed: 2013
Type: Double IPA
Abv: 7.1%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Good Spirits Co. (Glasgow)
Price: £4.00 (approx.)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. November 6, 2014 at 11:51

Leave a Reply

