Home > Wheat Ale, Wheat Beer > West Berlin

West Berlin

Rating: 2.75

My sixth beer from the local West brewery in Glasgow now, well my seventh if you count their Munich Red that I’ve tried on a number of occasions now but have yet to get around to reviewing properly one here. This is a new one from them for summer 2014 and one that I assume will only be available on-tap at their brewpub just off Glasgow Green. This was in fact the main reason I ordered a pint when visiting the place over the weekend, I was planning on getting a Munich Red until this one grabbed my attention and I wasn’t sure if I would get another chance to try it. It follows on from another special offering from the same brewery, their Wild West that I tried just over two years ago in the same place and one that I felt was a pretty average offering so I was hoping this one would be a slight improvement at least, here’s what I thought of it.
West Berlin

Appearance (4/5): Cloudy amber with hints of caramel that starts to get darker towards the bottom. The beer is topped with a thin lacing that is foamy and covers the surface of the beer with a tiny amount of lacing on the sides of the glass too.
Aroma (6/10): Wheat and clove kick things off with this one seeming like a weakened version of the breweries regular Hefeweizen. I could detect touches of spice and some malts with an almost lager like aroma coming from it at times before the finish is rounded out with some medium strength bitterness.
Taste (5/10): Wheat and malts begin things here, there is plenty of bitterness coming through with only a slight trace of hops. I could detect some fairly light fruits and touches of citrus but neither was particularly pronounced with the beer seemingly pretty basic with a lemon and bitter aftertaste that was quite disappointing.
Palate (2/5): A well carbonated offering from West with a light medium body and a very smooth feel but I couldn’t help but think it seemed watered down and very basic. There was touches of fizz and spice in places that helped things slightly but for the most part the beer was bland and unexciting.

Overall (9/20): Quite a poor beer from the Glasgow brewery, disappointing to say the least with me instantly regretting my decision to try one of their new beers. It tasted like someone had mixed one part St. Mungo with two parts West Hefeweizen and came up with this one, it seemed watery and bland in places and poor throughout. In its defense, it was drinkable but only just and it’s not one I want to try again.

Brewed In: Glasgow, Scotland
Brewery: West Brewing Company
First Brewed: 2014
Type: Wheat Ale
Abv: 3.8%
Serving: Draught (Pint)
Purchased: WEST Brewery, Bridgeton, Glasgow, Scotland
Price: £3.50

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

