Home > Specialty Grain > 6-Korn Bier (251 of 1001)

6-Korn Bier (251 of 1001)

Rating: 3.2

This one is a beer that I only picked up at the end of last week having popped into my local bottle shop to grab a few German beers to set me up for my trip to the north of the country starting this week. This is one of four German beers I picked up, this one along with two others feature on the 1001 beers list which is part of the reason for starting with this one. The beer is marketed as a specialty grain but I couldn’t work that out from the bottle, instead thinking it was a hefeweizen going by the picture on the back label of the beer. I was intrigued by this one having a screw cap with a tamper-evident band on it, something I’m used to seeing on only the cheapest beers in litre plus bottles when abroad; the fact that this supposedly good beer has one is something new to me. The beer takes its name from the fact that six different malted grains are used in the brewing process. I’m glad I picked this one up before going to Germany again as I believe it only normally makes it as far north as Bremen which is a city I’ll only be spending about a day in so I doubt I’d be lucky enough to find it there, and if I do then at least I’ll know what to expect.
6-Korn Bier

Appearance (4/5): Pours a dark amber colour that is quite cloudy and is topped with a fingers-width tall, foamy to creamy white head that holds pretty good over the opening minutes before eventually having in size.
Aroma (6/10): This one starts with a lot of malts and some bread coming through, there is some sweetness present as well but it’s the malts that the beer takes its name from that truly dominate proceedings. It’s not particularly strong on the nose, there is some bitterness and wheat with the beer almost hinting at being a hefeweizen with some background fruits and further grain.
Taste (6/10): Wheat and banana kick things off with the beer again seeming like a hefeweizen but the grains and some strong malts soon take over with touches of sweetness as well. Around the middle some caramel and further grains start to come through and although the beer wasn’t the greatest to begin with, almost seeming bland, it did pick up around the middle with some spice featuring as well.
Palate (3/5): Lots of grain and some sweetness on top of a light-medium body and medium carbonation. There is some spice and a dry finish that is followed by quite a bitter aftertaste.

Overall (12/20): This one is a fairly average offering in truth, it starts with some wheat and spice with background fruits but it still seems to come across as quite a bland one before improving some around the middle. The aftertaste was really bitter and lingered with it seeming overdone slightly. The beer was definitely drinkable but it wasn’t overly enjoyable and won’t be one I’ll pick up again.

Brewed In: Thalmässing, Bavaria, Germany
Brewery: Pyraser Landbrauerei
First Brewed: 2003
Type: Specialty Grain
Abv: 4.6%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Good Spirits Co. (Glasgow)
Price: £3.00

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

