Home > Gueuze, Lambic > Oud Beersel Oude Geuze Vieille (260 of 1001)

Oud Beersel Oude Geuze Vieille (260 of 1001)

Rating: 3.9

My 260th beer from the 1001 list now, this one a bottle that I was given as a Christmas gift last year and due to the fact that the best before date on the bottle was 2037 I thought I would let it sit for at least a couple months before cracking it open. As I try to get through the remainder of my beer stash before moving house I also discovered that this was the sole remaining bottle I had that was under about 8% abv. so I thought it would be most appropriate for a Wednesday night beer. The beer itself is a Belgian gueuze style lambic that will go down as my second of the style, following on from the bottle of Cantillon Gueuze 100% Lambic Bio that I reviewed here in late January last year and quite enjoyed. It’s not from a brewery that I’m familiar with at all but going solely by the fact that it is a Belgian beer in the 1001 beers list I fully expected this to be a good beer going in, here’s how it rated.

Oude Geuze Vieille

Appearance (4/5): Bright golden to orange in colour with a centimetre tall, bubbly white head that looks to be a result of the strong carbonation of this one. The head leaves fairly quickly except for the odd bubbly patch around the circumference and the beer itself is very clear looking.
Aroma (8/10): Quite a strong smelling beer with a lot of sour notes initially, strong citrus burst as well and a few other fruits such as apple and pear. The beer is definitely a sour one with some yeast and tart coming through, it also seems quite acidic with hints of grape featuring as well. Almost like a white wine on the nose with some spice and further hints of citrus closing things out.
Taste (7/10): Plenty of funk and tart to kick things off with here, there is a huge amount of citrus coming through along with some apple, orange and pear featuring early on as well. It’s quite an in your face style taste with some white grapes again making you think of wine as you take a drink. It’s a nice tasting beer but I’m not too sure it’s my type of beer really.
Palate (4/5): Very highly carbonated with a strong tang to the beer on top of a medium body and a very dry, sour mouthfeel that is quite crisp too.

Overall (16/20): It’s not often I get to try a new lambic and in fact this one is only my second ever gueuze style one but it was quite a nice beer, definitely one that started to grow on me as I worked my way down the glass. I felt it was perhaps too sour and funky for my tastes initially but from the half way point on wards it started to go down very easily and was quite pleasing as well; a nice change up for me and one I’m glad I got to try.

Brewed In: Beersel, Flemish Brabant, Belgium
Brewery: Brouwerij Oud Beersel
First Brewed: 1882
Type: Lambic – Gueuze
Abv: 6.0%
Serving: Bottle (375ml)
Purchased: BeersOfEurope.com
Price: Gift

  1. No comments yet.
  1. January 19, 2015 at 16:11

Leave a Reply

