Home > American Pale Ale > The Kernel Pale Ale Mosaic Zeus

The Kernel Pale Ale Mosaic Zeus

Rating: 3.75

It’s been a while since I last picked up a beer from The Kernel, I almost grabbed one a couple of weeks ago but in the end went for Buxton Ace Edge at the last minute so this one is long overdue. This Mosaic Zeus pale ale from the London based brewery is a new one launched in earlier in the summer and will be my fourteenth beer from them, all but one of which have been either an IPA or American pale ale; their Bière De Table saison being the odd one out. I enjoy the fact that it is not very often that you spot the same Kernel beer twice down to the fact that the brewery seems to be big on brewing the vast majority of their beers on either a one-off or rotation basis so it means that thisn’t one that I’m likely to spot again for quite some time so I’m going to enjoy it while I can and am already looking forward to my next beer from the brewery.
The Kernel Pale Ale Mosaic Zeus

Appearance (4/5): A hazy golden colour with a thumb-sized, foamy white head that holds very well over the opening few minutes. The beer leaves a touch of lacing on the glass and looks pretty good, my only concern is that it is perhaps a touch light in colour.
Aroma (7/10): Quite fruity on the nose with a strong citrus presence and plenty of grapefruit backing it up. I could detect some pine and orange coming through along with some solid bitterness and tropical fruit notes. Lively and fresh smelling on the nose, I’m looking forward to trying this one.
Taste (7/10): Matching the nose well, this one has a strong citrus taste initially with a lot of tropical fruits and pine coming through straight after. There is plenty of bitterness to this one, offset with some sweetness and light malts that follow. Very fruity throughout but it’s the citrus and bitter pine that seem to dominate.
Palate (4/5): This one was bitter as I was expecting, there was a juicy feel to it as well though and it was more refreshing that I was expecting. The body of this one was medium with average carbonation and a dry feel towards the end.

Overall (15/20): Another enjoyable beer from The Kernel, I’m struggling to think of a bad one from them with their IPA’s and American pale ales always going down well. I was particularly pleased with how refreshing and tropical the beer tasted, the fact it wasn’t overly strong in the alcohol department also went some way to helping it go down easily. Whilst I enjoyed it a lot I would say it fell just short of some of the previous beers from the brewery that I’ve picked up over the years but that’s more to do with how high they’ve set the bar than to do with anything negative with this beer.

Brewed In: London, England
Brewery: The Kernel Brewery
First Brewed: 2014
Type: American Pale Ale
Abv: 5.6%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: The Good Spirits Co. (Glasgow)
Price: £3.60

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

