Home > Hefeweizen, Wheat Beer > Duckstein Weizen Cuvee

Duckstein Weizen Cuvee

Rating: 3.2

The last beer that I tried on the Hamburg leg of my trip to Germany last month, this one from the Mecklenburgische Brauerei Lübz in the north of the country. I spotted Duckstein Weizen a number of times whilst in both Berlin and Hamburg recently but for the most part I opted for other beers over this one until I found myself in a Hamburg cafe with no other beers on the menu that I hadn’t already tried. The beer is seemingly available throughout the north of Germany but I can’t say it is a beer I had spotted in the UK or one that I’d even heard of before my recent trip so I’m not entirely sure how far this one travels and I’m glad I eventually got around to trying it. This one will go down as the 96th different beer from Germany that I’ve reviewed here and gets me one step closer to that magic number 100 although I’m not sure it’s rank as one of the beer of the 96 so far, that being said it wasn’t a bad beer at all.
Duckstein Hefeweiss

Appearance (4/5): Orange to slightly darker than average amber with a cloudy and thin head that was a lot smaller that is normal for the style, sitting at just under a centimetre tall but managing to hold well.
Aroma (6/10): Lots of banana and clove to kick things off with, there is some wheat and plenty of bubblegum coming through too. I could detect some sweetness to this beer although the aroma wasn’t the most pronounced.
Taste (6/10): Wheat and bubblegum come through in the taste with some clove from the nose as well. I got a lot of citrus and banana coming through but like the nose the taste is quite light and it also seems a touch bland in places; not a bad tasting beer as such but it’s not one of the better hefeweizens either.
Palate (3/5): Smooth and quite sweet for the style with some of the background fruits seemingly accounting for this. The beer was medium bodied but as I’ve already mentioned it also proved to be quite bland and unexciting too.

Overall (12/20): This one was quite a poor hefeweizen which was particularly surprising since it was a German beer, on-tap in Germany but it just didn’t come up to scratch when compared to so many others of the style out there. Whilst falling short of being a bad or undrinkable beer, it was bland and unimaginative with only the strong bubblegum and banana flavours seeming like positives. I would probably give this one a miss in future and stick with the likes of Paulaner or Erdinger since they seem to always be available when this one is in Germany.

Brewed In: Lübz, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Germany
Brewery: Mecklenburgische Brauerei Lübz
First Brewed: Brewery since 1877
Type: German Hefeweizen
Abv: 5.7%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Oma’s Apotheke, Hamburg, Germany
Price: €3.90 (approx. £3.12)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

