Home > Pale Lager, Pilsner > Haake Beck Pils

Haake Beck Pils

Rating: 2.5

One of the last few beers I managed to try in Germany last month and one that also happened to be my first new beer of the trip as well as one of my last. Haake Beck Pils is surprisingly my fifth beer from the Beck’s brewery based in Bremen and I managed to try this one on-tap in a Bremen beer garden by the river were I could see the Beck brewery in the distance from, you don’t get much closer to the source than that. I first tried the beer on the train from Bremen to Berlin on my first day of the trip and didn’t really spot it again until I was back in Bremen on my final night, presumably because the beer only seems to be popular in the local Bremen area in contrast to both Beck’s and Beck’s Gold which seem to be available all over German. This was the first new beer from the brewery I’ve tried in about three years, it seemed to be one I was picking up beers from fairly easily early on but given the fact that none of them (except perhaps Beck’s Gold) were any good it’s only natural that I’ve tried to avoid them ever since.
Haake Beck Pils

Appearance (3/5): A clear, light amber colour with a thumb-sized, bubbly white head on top with average retention and some touches of lace left on the sides of the glass too.
Aroma (5/10): This one had a fairly basic lager aroma to it, there was also some skunk which wasn’t exactly pleasing. I could detect some light malts and a few grassy hops plus hints of citrus but to be honest there wasn’t a whole lot going on with this one and it was fairly forgettable too.
Taste (4/10): Clean on the taste buds but not all that appealing or interesting, there was some grassy hops coming through similar to those that featured on the nose, some basic lager malts appeared as well and a faint bitterness is also present. The beer was fairly bland and even watery in areas with little to keep me interested.
Palate (3/5): Smooth on the palate but also quite watery and bland in places. The beer was crisp and clean tasting with some faint bitterness in the background and a dryness towards the end as well but it was also quite weak.

Overall (8/20): This one was a really poor beer by German standard and part of the reason I do my best to avoid macro pale lagers whenever possible, this one was bland and unexciting with a basic lager taste and some off-putting skunky aromas early one. Not enjoyable throughout and one that I’d suggest you avoid, I know I will be in future.

Brewed In: Bremen, Germany
Brewery: Brauerei Beck & Co.
First Brewed: Brewery since 1873
Type: German Pilsner
Abv: 4.9%
Serving: Draught (500ml)
Purchased: Feldmann’s Bierhaus, Bremen, Germany
Price: €4.20 (approx. £3.36)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. October 27, 2014 at 11:35

Leave a Reply

