Home > American Pale Ale > Ratsherrn Pale Ale

Ratsherrn Pale Ale

Rating: 3.45

My penultimate beer from my recent trip to Germany now, this one being my first true craft beer from the country. I received this bottle as a gift from a friend I met up with in Germany who managed to pick me up this and another bottle or German craft beer whilst in Dresden a few days before we met up. The beer itself if actually brewed in Hamburg, a place I was still due to visit upon receiving this but as it turned out it was not a beer that I spotted at any point in the city with the like of Jever and Paulaner dominating the market. I sampled this one at my hostel in Bremen towards the end of my trip and it is definitely one I’m glad I got to try, it’s amazing how hard it is to find craft beers in a country so famous for the quality of their beers; I’ll need to do my best to find some more like this when I’m back in the country early next year.
Ratsherrn Pale Ale
Appearance (4/5): A light, clear amber colour with lots of visible carbonation and a huge head that holds well at about two inches tall, leaving a fair amount of lacing on the glass as well.
Aroma (6/10): Medium strength pine hops with a mainly citrus aroma that features some spice and quite a fresh smell overall. There is some bitterness and the beer actually seems like a watered down version of an American pale ale on the nose; interesting stuff so far.
Taste (6/10): Light pine initially with some medium strength citrus and American style hops, there is some faint malts that give the beer some sweetness as well. I could detect further hops and bitterness towards the end but in truth the beer wasn’t the most pronounced, it was enjoyable though.
Palate (4/5): Quite smooth on the palate with some fizz on top of what would be considered medium carbonation. There is some dry touches towards the end with a solid bitterness accompanying this.

Overall (13/20): Not a bad offering for my first German craft beer, it was certainly different from all the other beers I managed to try on my recent trip to the country and it was a beer that went down fairly well without really excelling. There was some nice hops coming through and a decent enough amount of bitterness as a result but I couldn’t help but feel that it seems a little too much like a watered down version of an American pale ale. Enjoyable and easy to drink whilst sitting in the sun but I doubt it would be one I’ll have again.

Brewed In: Bremen, Germany
Brewery: Ratsherrn Brauerei
First Brewed: circa. 2012
Type: American Pale Ale
Abv: 5.6%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Dresden, Germany
Price: Gift

  1. No comments yet.
  1. August 29, 2014 at 11:39

Leave a Reply

