Home > Pale Lager, Pilsner > Vier Vogel Pils

Vier Vogel Pils

Rating: 3.35

The final beer from my recent trip to Germany, it’s only taken me a month to get this review posted. This one follows on from the last beer I reviewed here, Ratsherrn Pale Ale and is only my second ever German craft beer. Like that one, this is another beer I was given as a gift from my friend who picked up a bottle in Dresden for me. From what I can gather the beer only seems to be available in a couple of stores dotted around Dresden so it’s not one I’m likely to ever find again but it was one that I was looking forward to before cracking the bottle open since nobody does pilsners like the Germans (well except the Czechs anyway).

Vier Vogel Pils

Appearance (3/5): Pale and cloudy looking with a light yellow appearance that bordered on straw. There was a small, one centimetre tall head that held fairly well though.
Aroma (6/10): Light and subdued on the nose, there wasn’t really anything to grab your attention other than some pale malts and touches of sweetness. I could detect some light citrus and lemon with grassy hops starting to come through around the middle but overall the beer was fairly week on the nose.
Taste (7/10): Lots of citrus, mainly lemon come through in the taste of this one and thankfully it is a lot more pronounced than the nose was. There is some good pilsner style malts and grassy hops coming through, I got some faint sweetness as well and the beer definitely seemed quite fresh.
Palate (4/5): Quite smooth, light bodied and fresh with a lively feel from the ample carbonation and touches of fizz. The citrus gave the beer a nice tang to it and it was very easy-going, almost seeming like a radler at times.

Overall (13/20): Not a bad effort and again another nice change up for a German pilsner but like the bottle of Ratsherrn Pale Ale I reviewed last I wouldn’t consider this one a classic or one I’d seek out again. It was always going to be hard to take a German lager and make it better and to be honest this one failed with some much better beers of the style out there that I’d rather pick up before this one. Again it was nice to try another genuine German craft beer but on this evidence it seems that their mass-produced beers are better.

Brewed In: Bremen, Germany
Brewery: Vier Vogel
First Brewed: 2013
English Name: Four Bird Pils
Type: German Pilsner
Abv: 5.0%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Dresden, Germany
Price: Gift

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

