Home > Scottish Ale, Traditional Ale > Innis & Gunn Rum Finish

Innis & Gunn Rum Finish

Rating: 3.65

I spotted this one in Asda the other night and wasn’t going to pick it up at first, but after quickly checking to see if I’d tried it before I assumed I hadn’t as the name was new to me and the alcohol content was lower than the closest named beer to it that I had already tried, Innis & Gunn Rum Cask. As you have probably already guess, the two beers are most probably one and the same with this one being a minor tweak on the last bottle of it I tried back in 2011, once I actually drink it I’ll know for sure but I definitely have my suspicions already. I’ll mark this one as a new beer regardless though since the name, and more importantly the abv. of this particular bottle are different from the last at least.

Innis & Gunn Rum Finish

Appearance (4/5): Initially sits with a thumb-sized, foamy head after a somewhat aggressive pour before slowly reducing in size to sit at about a centimetre tall. The head is a light beige to creamy white colour and there is touches of lacing left on the sides of the glass as I move the beer about in the glass.
Aroma (7/10): Starting with some dark malts and a lot of sweetness, there is quite a lot of vanilla and butterscotch notes coming through, seemingly a constant with most Innis & Gunn beers I have tried. There is some oak notes as well and some sugar too with some alcohol and spice rounding things off. The smell is a relatively strong one but I’m looking forward to tasting it.
Taste (7/10): Like the aroma, this one starts quite sweet with the oak and malts from the nose coming through alongside plenty of sugar, vanilla and background fruits. I could detect a slight bit of grain and alcohol with hints of caramel and toffee in there too; not a bad tasting beer and while it didn’t quite match the heights of the smell it didn’t fall far short.
Palate (4/5): Smooth for the most part with a slightly warming feel from the alcohol and a very sweet mouthfeel throughout. Carbonation levels are about medium for this one, maybe slightly stronger and the body is a slightly creamy one with a good, balanced finish to the beer.

Overall (13/20): The more I drank of this one the more it reminded me of the breweries Rum Cask and everything in the beer leads me to believe that this one is merely a reworking of that offering, albeit with a slightly weaker alcohol content. I did seem to enjoy the beer more this time around, perhaps it was just a little fresher but in truth there wasn’t too much of a difference between the two and had the abv. of this one been the same then I’d probably not have bothered reviewing this one.

Brewed In:  Edinburgh, Scotland
Brewery: Innis & Gunn Brewing Company
First Brewed: circa. 2014
Type: Scottish Ale
Abv: 6.8%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Asda
Price: £1.66

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

