Home > American IPA, India Pale Ale, Session IPA > Thornbridge AM:PM

Thornbridge AM:PM

Rating: 3.3

A new Thornbridge beer now, it’s been a while but this one will be my eighth beer from the English brewery and one that I managed to try on-tap in The Raven in Glasgow city centre late last week. The beer will be my first new one from the brewery this year, my last being their Kipling American pale ale that I enjoyed and reviewed here back in October last year, I’m amazed it’s almost been a year between trying two of their beers but there you have it. This one, their AM:PM, is labelled as a session IPA coming in at 4.5% and following a recent trend of hop heavy, lower abv beers that seems to be gripping the United States at the moment. I’m not sure what to make of the style as yet, on the one hand it sounds great but I’ve yet to be convinced as some I have tried have been less than satisfactory, hopefully this one will be different. I should note that although it didn’t affect my rating of the beer, this one was ridiculously priced at £5 for a pint and had I spotted this before ordering I’d have probably opted for something more reasonably priced.

am-pm

Appearance (4/5): Medium amber and partially clear in appearance, there is a bubbly and white head on top that looks like more of a thin lacing that anything else but overall the beer doesn’t look too bad.
Aroma (6/10): Mild to medium strength hops and some light citrus kick things off before some pine and grapefruit notes start to come through, as do some malts but these aren’t particularly strong. There was some mango and further resinous pine notes but I just got the impression that the beer was missing that special something and came out a touch weaker than I’d have liked, especially so towards the end of the beer.
Taste (7/10):
 Citrus and pine from the nose come through in the taste, as does some grapefruit but to slightly less effect. There was quite a bitter taste to this one with some lighter malts adding touches of sweetness and some spice but again the beer seemed a touch weaker than I’d have preferred.
Palate (3/5): 
Light medium bodied with about medium carbonation and a slightly grainy feel on the mouth. The beer is a bitter one with a slight citrus tang and some faint touches of sweetness throughout but it did seems slightly bland in areas and could have been a lot better.

Overall (12/20): I found this one to be somewhat of a mixed bag with it getting off to a good start provided by the grapefruit and pine flavours given the beer a pleasant, bitter taste but things seemed to fade from the mid-point on and the beer ended up being a bit of a disappointment. Without coming across as bad or undrinkable, I definitely felt that the beer was missing something and could have used being a bit stronger but I suppose that goes against the convention of what constitutes a session IPA. An overpriced beer that I won’t be picking up again, regardless of cost.

Brewed In: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England
Brewery:
 Thornbridge Brewery
First Brewed: 2014
Full Name: Thornbridge AM:PM All Day IPA
Type: American IPA/Session IPA
Abv: 4.5%
Serving: Draught (Pint)
Purchased: The Raven, Glasgow, Scotland
Price: £5.00

  1. No comments yet.
  1. October 8, 2014 at 13:31

Leave a Reply

