Home > American IPA, India Pale Ale > Fitzbräu Wishaw Local #1

Fitzbräu Wishaw Local #1

Rating: 3.85

After quite a lengthy break from my last home brew and a couple of months since bottling this one, I’m finally getting round to rating my second attempt at malt extract brewing. This time I was slightly more adventurous and used some crushed malts as well as three different hop varieties (Magum, Sorachi Ace and Centennial in case you were wondering). I also decided this would be a good time to try my hand at dry hopping where I used a combination of Sorachi Ace & Magnum, mainly to use the rest of the Magum hops up if I’m honest. I’m never sure how my beers will come out but I was fairly happy with the way this one ended up, my only issue being that I perhaps overdone it with the crushed malts early on but I’m still learning after all.
Fitzbräu Wishaw Local #1

Appearance (4/5): A slightly cloudy, caramel amber colour with some red tinges and a thin, foamy looking head that is an off-white colour. Retention is okay with a nice lacing covering the entire surface of the beer after the opening minute or so, falling short of disappearing completely.
Aroma (7/10): Sweet on the nose with tonnes of malts and caramel, some hops come through as well but these seem to be more subdued than I would have liked. I could detect background fruits, a touch of citrus and faint grapefruit as well but it seemed to be the caramel and sweet malts that dominated from the start.
Taste (8/10): Matching the smell well, this one starts with a lot of caramel and sweet malts but the citrus and grapefruit seem to be more pronounced here and hints of pine make their first appearance here too. I got a solid bitterness that balanced out the malts quite well and thankfully the caramel wasn’t quite as in your face as it was with the nose. 3.75
Palate (4/5):
Quite smooth with a medium bodied with moderate carbonation and a sweetness that appears throughout. The beer becomes slightly bitter towards the end but the sweet malts definitely help balance things out. 3.75

Overall (15/20): Not a bad effort if I do say so myself, this one has definitely been my favourite of all my efforts so far. The beer seemed slightly more malty and caramel filled than I would have liked, particularly on the nose but this bit settle down some and helped offset the bitterness from the hops in the taste. I was pleased with this one, hopefully my next will be even better though,

Brewed In: Wishaw, Lanarkshire Scotland
Brewery: Fitzbräu
First Brewed: 2014
Type: American IPA
Abv: 5.51% approx.
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Homebrew
Price: N/A

  1. No comments yet.
  1. March 17, 2017 at 10:24

Leave a Reply

