Home > English IPA, India Pale Ale > Gladeye IPA

Gladeye IPA

Rating: 3.4

My third review of a Drygate beer now, this one being one of the three beers that were released earlier this year when the brewery was launched, the other two being the previously reviewed Bearface Lager and Outaspace Apple Ale. This particular beer is one that I’ve tried on a number of occasions now with the intention of giving it a proper review but for whatever reason I’ve yet to get around to actually doing that. It’s a beer that whilst I’ve always enjoyed it it has never really blow me away so I’m hoping that when I give it a proper try I’ll be more taken by it but that remains to be seen I guess.

Gladeye IPA

Appearance (4/5): Pours a light, fairly clear amber with a centimetre tall, foamy white head that looks really thick and holds well well with slightly more build up around the circumference of the glass as well as managing to leave a little lacing on the sides too.
Aroma (6/10): This one is quite subdued and subtle on the nose, there is a slight hint of caramel malts and English style hops upfront but nothing jumps out at you straight away. I managed to detect some hints of bitterness and touches of sweetness with what I thought seemed like butter but like I said, this one is definitely not the strongest on the nose.
Taste (6/10): Gladeye tastes much like the aroma indicated, there was some English style hops and caramel malts initially before some earthy flavours and a hint of sweetness started to come through but again it was fairly average and not too strong sadly. I got some background fruity and grassy flavours with some biscuit but not a lot else really.
Palate (4/5): Light medium bodied and smooth but quite weak, the beer hinted at some bitterness throughout with moderate carbonation and an ever so slightly dry finish.

Overall (12/20): Again this one has proved to be quite an average beer from Drygate, it’s certainly drinkable but it just doesn’t seem to have a lot going for it and it definitely doesn’t grab your attention either. I found it hard to pick out much in the way of flavour and it wasn’t much different to countless other English style IPA’s that I’ve tried in the past.

Brewed In: Drygate, Glasgow, Scotland
Brewery: Drygate Brewery
First Brewed: 2014
Type: English IPA
Abv: 5.5%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Tesco (Glasgow)
Price: £1.59

  1. No comments yet.
  1. December 3, 2015 at 08:41

Leave a Reply

