Home > Golden Ale/Blond Ale > Pokertree Ghrian Golden Ale

Pokertree Ghrian Golden Ale

Rating: 3.25

My first beer from the County Tyrone based Pokertree brewery in the north of Ireland, this is another beer that I picked up from a local beer shop in County Fermanagh and grabbed it as it was one of selection of Irish beer that I had yet to try and I’m all about the new beers. This one will be my first golden ale in some time but having originally been one of my most visited styles of beer, it is now one that I don’t pick up as often as before. I’m glad I managed to pick this one up though, it’s always nice to try local beers and I don’t imagine this is one that I’m likely to see in Glasgow anytime soon so I thought it best to grab a bottle while I had that chance.

Pokertree Ghrian Golden Ale

Appearance (3/5): Medium amber in colour with a thin, foamy white head that sits about quarter of an inch tall on top of the beer. There is a slight build up of lacing on the sides of the glass and the head covers the entire surface of the beer for most of its life.
Aroma (6/10): Light hops and some pale malts come through early on here, there is some citrus and the odd floral note as well. I got a fair amount of bitterness early on from the beer with lemon, oranges and a few berries following soon after but in truth the smell wasn’t the most pronounced and certainly wasn’t anything special.
Taste (7/10): This one starts quite bitter with a lot of earthy hops and some floral ones too. There was some grassy flavours coming through and some background fruits giving the beer another dimension with the citrus and orange from the nose both present here as well.
Palate (4/5): Medium bodied and with a nice, even bitterness throughout that accompanied slight citrus tang to the beer quite well. Carbonation levels were just above average for the style but it certainly wasn’t overdone or gassy at least.

Overall (11/20): This one was a fairly average beer really, not unlike most other golden ales that I seem to pick up and with not very much to set it apart from the crowd I’m afraid. There was a nice bitterness to this one and good background fruits but sadly there wasn’t a whole lot else really.

Brewed In: Carrickmore, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland
Brewery: Pokertree Brewing Co.
First Brewed: 2013
Type: Golden/Blond Ale
Abv: 4.5%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Reilly’s (Lisnaskea)
Price: £2.79

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

