Home > American IPA, India Pale Ale > The Kernel India Pale Ale Enigma Chinook

The Kernel India Pale Ale Enigma Chinook

Rating: 3.7

Another beer from The Kernel now, this one follows on from their bottle of London Sour that I reviewed here recently and didn’t really enjoy all that much if I’m honest, mainly down to the fact that I’m not a huge fan of sour beers. As a result of that slight disappointment I thought it best to get back to what I know and love from the brewery, namely their hop-filled IPA’s which I don’t think I’ve ever had a bad one of. This particular offering is a beer that was released in mid-February this year and it will be my seventeenth beer from the London based brewery so I kind of know what to expect from this one but I’m excited to find out if I’m right nonetheless.

The Kernel IPA Enigma Chinook

Appearance (4/5): Medium to light golden amber with a slightly hazy body and a nice, foamy white head about a thumbs-width tall and sporty good retention over the opening few minutes, leaving specks of lacing on the sides of the glass too.
Aroma (7/10): Fresh on the nose with medium strength hops that give off a nice tropical fruit aroma with some background citrus notes coming through. The nose is more subdued than I had been expecting from The Kernel but it is still pleasant with some grassy hops and a few caramel and sweet malts coming through to offset some of the bitterness from the hops before a few floral notes finish things off.
Taste (7/10): The taste follows on from the nose well and matches it fairly closely with some nice tropical fruits making themselves known early on, the citrus from the nose features as well although this does seem ever so slightly more pronounced here. Again nothing about this beer is in your face or overpowering, some floral and grassy flavours come through followed by sweet caramel malts before touches of pine see things out.
Palate (4/5): Smooth and medium bodied with light-medium carbonation levels and quite a crisp, dry finish to the beer that is moderately bitter throughout with some touches of sweetness dotted about the place. This one proved quite easy to drink and was even refreshing at times plus the balance was spot on; this one is a very nice beer on the palate and one that goes down well.

Overall (14/20): This was an odd one from The Kernel for me, on the one hand it was a good beer and done everything you would expect from an American IPA but on the other it didn’t quite live up to their admittedly high standard and never quite hit the spot for me. Despite this the beer is still a very nice one and it’s definitely not one that I’d pass up if someone offered me a bottle but at the same time it’s not likely I’d pick it up again if they ever decided to brew it again in the future – they have so many better IPA’s out their for me to try first I’m afraid.

Brewed In: London, England
Brewery: The Kernel Brewery
First Brewed: 2015
Type: American IPA
Abv: 6.9%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: The Good Spirits Co. (Glasgow)
Price: £3.20

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

