Home > English Porter, Porter > Meantime London Porter (296 of 1001)

Meantime London Porter (296 of 1001)

Rating: 3.75

Now for what will be my 296th beer from the 1001 beers list, I’m slowly getting ever closer to that magic 300 number now. This is a bottle from the Meantime brewery and will be my twelfth such beer, it will also be the final beer from the brewery that I have to try that features in the 1001 beers list. I’ve been on the hunt for this one for a number of years now, ever since my first visit to London after creating this blog and in all my visits I was unable to pick up a bottle until I discovered it a few miles from my home in Giffnock’s Whole Foods Market a couple of weeks ago. The beer is said to be a recreation of a 1750’s recipe that features seven different malt varieties along with plenty of fuggle hops. I only hope is that this beer will prove to have been worth the long wait I’ve had to get my hands on a bottle and seeing that it gets very good reviews online leads me to believe it will be; let’s find out.

Meantime London Porter

Appearance (4/5): Dark ruby coloured with a mahogany tinge and a thin, one centimetre tall head that is a foamy looking beige and leaves some nice lacing on the sides of the glass as I worked my way down the beer.
Aroma (7/10): Dark, slightly roasted notes on the nose initially with some hints of coffee coming through as well. There is a nutty aroma throughout with some chocolate coming through alongside it and a few sweet notes before some bitterness and dark malts see things out.
Taste (7/10): Roasted malts and some coffee again kick things off here, there is some chocolate as well but this seems to take more of a backseat here. There is a little sweetness imparted on the beer with a couple of background fruits sneaking in as well before the nutty flavours that the nose hinted at start to come through.
Palate (4/5): This one is a medium bodied beer with some sweetness sneaking in throughout and a few boozy patches as well despite the fact it’s not a huge beer abv. wise. The mouthfeel was quite a smooth one with a couple of sticky areas dotted about the place and the beer seemed to have an excellent balance on top of fairly light carbonation levels.

Overall (15/20): This one was quite a nice beer and one that I’m actually glad came in the larger, 750ml bottle as it gave me extra time to fully appreciate the beer and enjoy it as it went down. The beer was a very easy on to drink thanks in no small part to the excellent balance of the beer but also because of the smooth, almost creamy mouthfeel and the touches of sweetness that appeared throughout. Definitely a beer that is well worth picking up if your lucky enough to stumble across it but it’s not a stand-out Meantime offering, just a solid and highly drinkable beer.

Brewed In: Greenwich, London, England
Brewery: Meantime Brewing Company
First Brewed: 2005
Type: English Porter
Abv: 6.5%
Serving: Bottle (750ml)
Purchased: Whole Foods Market (Giffnock)
Price: £5.06

  1. No comments yet.
  1. March 16, 2016 at 08:10

Leave a Reply

