Home > English Ale, Mild Ale > Jaw Fathom

Jaw Fathom

Rating: 1.85

This one will by my third beer from Glasgow based Jaw Brew, a brewery whose beers I’ve recently started picking up at my local farmer’s market directly from the brewery. Having previously enjoyed a bottle of their Wave wheat beer and then being disappointed by their Drop golden ale, this is a beer I’m not sure what to expect from but it is still one that I hopeful with be a nice one. This one is will be my ninth mild ale and my first since being disappointed by Brewdog’s All Day Long earlier this year, it’s not a style I get to try all that often nor is it one of my favourite styles but this is still one that I’m looking forward to cracking open.

Jaw Fathom

Appearance (1/5): This one looked very poor with absolutely no head on top of the beer, it pretty much looked like a pint of flat cola when I poured (quite aggressively) it from the glass. It was black in colour and still but it looked pathetic really.
Aroma (6/10): Fairly sweet on the nose to begin with quite a few dark malts and some hints of coffee coming through along with some earthy notes. There is a bit of chocolate in there too and a touch of grain, thankfully it smells a lot better than it looks.
Taste (4/10): Sweet and earthy to start with, there is a fair amount of chocolate coming through early on with some roasted malts and a hint of sugar but other than that the beer seems quite plain and ordinary with a slightly nutty flavour following on at the end. There was some smoky patches around the middle and towards the end but the beer wasn’t a pleasant tasting one at all if I’m honest.
Palate (2/5): Smooth bodied and quite light, lighter than I’d been expecting for such a dark beer anyway, coming in around light-medium bodied with a really sweet mouthfeel that is also quite oily. The balance isn’t great either and the beer proved a struggle to finish with it seeming fairly bland too.

Overall (5/20): I had high hopes for this one despite the fact the last beer from the brewery that I tried wasn’t a good one but I was surprised at just how bad this beer actually was, it had a terrible taste and balance not to mention the fact it was one of the worst looking beers I’ve seen in a long time. I didn’t enjoy this one at all and hopefully the next Jaw Brew beer I try will be a lot better than this one.

Brewed In: Hillington Park, Glasgow, Scotland
Brewery: Jaw Brew
First Brewed: 2014
Type: English Dark Mild Ale
Abv: 4.0%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Shawlands Farmers Market (Glasgow)
Price: £2.50

  1. No comments yet.
  1. May 18, 2015 at 08:27

Leave a Reply

