Home > India Pale Ale, Session IPA > Hello, My Name Is Little Ingrid

Hello, My Name Is Little Ingrid

Rating: 3.85

A beer I have been looking forward ever since I heard it was being introduced, Little Ingrid is a new beer from Brewdog that was launched earlier this month and one that I specifically went out of my way to pick up given the fact it is a session version of Brewdog’s cult classic, Hello My Name Is Ingrid. The original Ingrid was a beer released mainly for the Swedish market and the one that launched the Hello, My Name Is… series from Brewdog. The beer was available in the UK on a couple of rare occasions and it is still a probably the beer from Brewdog that I most want to try so I knew I couldn’t miss picking up this session version when I had the chance. Little Ingrid is a Scandinavian cloudberry infused beer brewed with four different hop varieties and one that I can’t wait to crack open now.

Hello, My Name Is Little Ingrid

Appearance (4/5): Clear amber in colour with a thumb-sized white head that is a thick and foamy looking texture with good retention and some visible signs of good carbonation as well. Slowly the size of the head is reduced over the opening minutes but it doesn’t seem to lose much of its height.
Aroma (8/10): Quite a strong aroma is instantly detectable from the moment I opened the bottle, the beer smells quite fresh with a lot of tropical fruits hitting you to begin with. Definitely a fruit beer on the nose with some nice sweetness coming through along with some touches of pine hops and citrus. There is some peach and apricot in the mix with a little bit of grapefruit and some berries too, not a bad-smelling beer at all this one.
Taste (7/10): Like the nose, this one starts quite fruity with a lot of pine hops and citrus coming through along with the tropical bursts that featured early in the aroma. There is some bitterness but for the most part the sweetness wins out and I managed to detect some peach along with various other background fruits but it wasn’t quite as good as the nose had hinted at sadly.
Palate (4/5): Smooth and light-medium bodied, perhaps this one could have been a little fuller-bodied but that is a minor complaint. The beer was quite sweet with the hops adding some bitterness to proceedings and that balance was okay too. Carbonation with the beer was pretty much as you’d expect from an American style IPA and fell somewhere around medium with the beer seemingly quite refreshing and going down easily too.

Overall (15/20): This one certainly delivers what the label promises, it’s a session IPA through and through thanks to refreshing taste and the relatively low alcohol content; I could certainly drink a few of these in one sitting. The beer was sweet and fruity with a lot of tropical flavours and a nice balance that helped the beer down. It wasn’t quite as hoppy as I’ve come to expect from some of Brewdog’s IPA’s but some did feature and this was a beer that I rather enjoyed and wouldn’t mind seeing again from time to time.

Brewed In: Ellon, Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Brewery: Brewdog
First Brewed: 2015
Type: Session IPA
Abv: 4.4%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Good Spirits Co. (Glasg0w)
Price: £2.40

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

