13 Guns

Rating: 3.25

This one is a beer that has been kicking about for a couple of years now, I think it was first released back in 2012 but I’ve only just came across it when I was informed that Morrions had started selling cans of the stuff. From what I can tell it was originally available in bottles but given the recent trend for craft beer in cans it’s only to be expected that you’d start seeing supermarkets selling individual cans of beer sooner rather than later. This one will be my seventh beer from the Thwaites brewery and to be honest I almost didn’t buy this one given the fact that none of the previous six that I’ve tried have been particularly memorable; I think the bottle of Nutty Black from them that I reviewed back in early 2013 was the best of the bunch and that wasn’t all that great really so hopefully this one is better.

Thwaites 13 Guns

Appearance (4/5): Deer amber to copper in colour with a clear body and topped with a thin, quarter centimetre tall head that’s bubbly and quickly ends up as a very thin surface lacing before starting to break up a little and begin to turn patchy.
Aroma (6/10): Fresh and clean on the nose with some medium strength hops coming through, there is a touch of pine and faint tropical fruits coming through but I felt these could have been a little stronger given this one is an American style IPA. I got some sweetness and a little pineapple coming through with a bit of caramel towards the end; a nice smelling beer but definitely one that I’d like to have been a little stronger on the nose.
Taste (6/10): Starting much like the nose, this one kicks off with some medium strength American hops that impart some pine and tropical fruit flavours as well as some citrus on the taste buds but like the nose it’s not quite as strong as I’d have liked. Some sweet and caramel malts start coming through around the middle and there is some nice bitterness in there as well.
Palate (3/5): Light-medium bodied, perhaps a little thinner than I would have liked and with moderate carbonation levels. The beer was dry and for the most part it was smooth as well with a bit of sweetness coming through from the malts  and the beer had an okay balance too but it wasn’t quite as bitter as I would have liked for an American IPA.

Overall (13/20): Another so-so offering from Thwaites, this one started quite well but never really hit the heights of most of the American brewed IPA’s that you can pick up quite easily in the UK anyway. The beer kicked off with some nice tropical fruits and citrus flavours but these soon faded as the malts made themselves more known and by the end I was getting a little fed up with this one if I’m honest. An okay beer but not one that I’d recommend picking up when given the choice between this or some of the better known IPA’s from the States.

Brewed In: Blackburn, England
Brewery: Daniel Thwaites Brewery PLC
First Brewed: 2012
Full Name: Thwaites Crafty Dan 13 Guns
Type: American IPA
Abv: 5.5%
Serving: Can (330ml)
Purchased: Morrisons (Glasgow)
Price: £1.50

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

