Home > English Ale, Pale Ale > Alechemy Ritual Pale Ale

Alechemy Ritual Pale Ale

Rating: 3.45

This one was a beer that I picked up early last from an Aldi supermarket in Cardonald after heading there to see what beers they had on offer as part of their annual ‘Scottish Beer Festival’ range. I opted for this one from Alechemy due to the fact that I’d already tried a couple of their beers in the past but also because the selection didn’t seem as good as it has done in previous years sadly. This is the first of the beers I picked up that I will be reviewing so hopefully they get off to a good start. This one will be my fourth from the Alechemy brewery and follows on from the bottles of Utopia and Onyx that I tried back in November last year but this one will be my first pale ale from the brewery so I’m interested to see how this one comes out; fingers crossed that it’s a good one.

Alechemy Ritual

Appearance (3/5): Pours a golden amber and looks incredibly clear sitting in the glass with a half centimetre tall, foamy white head with a few bubbles in there as well. Retention is better than I first expected after pouring with the beer showing little movement over the opening couple of minutes.
Aroma (7/10): Really sweet on the nose with quite a lot of vanilla and particularly some strong butterscotch notes upfront. There is a good few malts in the mix as well and touches of biscuit with some grassy hops coming through toward the end and mainly sitting in the background. Not a bad beer on the nose at all, perhaps a little sweet but a nice offering thus far.
Taste (6/10): Starting much like the nose, this one begins with a lot of butterscotch and vanilla flavours coming through alongside some biscuit malts and a slightly earthy feel that includes some light citrus hops and touch of grass. There is some bread in the mix too and I could detect some spice before some caramel and further sweet malts brought things to a close.
Palate (4/5): Smooth and quite creamy on the palate with a medium body and some moderate bitterness coming through early on and a touch of spice towards the end. The beer is definitely a sweet one, perhaps a little too sweet to begin with but things settle down come once the beer has had time to open up and breathe.

Overall (15/20): This one was quite a nice offering from Alechemy, I had initially feared it was going to be far to sweet when I first smelt the it after opening the bottle but it turned out to be quite an enjoyable and well balanced beer that went down fairly easily. Yes, the sweetness could have been toned down just a little but it didn’t manage to spoil the beer for me thankfully. I’m not sure it’s one that I’ll be all that likely to seek out again but it was still one worth picking up and I’m glad I did.

Brewed In: Livingston, Scotland
Brewery: Alechemy Brewing
First Brewed: 2012
Type: English Pale Ale
Abv: 4.1%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Aldi (Cardonald)
Price: £1.99

  1. No comments yet.
  1. June 7, 2015 at 22:52
  2. January 26, 2016 at 08:39

Leave a Reply

